RSS

Happy Birthday to My Blog and a Quiz

24 Apr


Two years back, when I started this blog, I had completely a different vision in my mind for it. I had thought I would be reviewing films from all over the world. Somehow I ended up making theme-lists of songs. There are many reasons for it, which I myself don’t know!
When the blog started, many of the readers from other blogs, whom I had got acquainted with came and supported me with their comments and encouraging me to go ahead with it. I am really very grateful to them. But somehow after the review of Indien, my ambition lost steam and the overwhelming response to the come-back maanjhi (boatman) song list, put me back on track. This just goes to show what readers and comments and their commentators mean to this blog. It won’t exist without them. Thank you my dear readers and commentators. Big thanks from the bottom of my heart.
What better words than from S. H. Bihari can express my feelings!
bahut shukriya badi meharbani (many thanks, it is a great act of favour)
meri zindagi me huzur aap aae (that you have come into my life)
kadam chum luu yaa ye aankheen bichaa du (shall I kiss your feet or spread my gaze at your feet)
karu kya ye meri samajh me na aae (I just don’t know how to repay this kindness)

So overwhelmed I am from your response that:
mujhe dar hai mujhme gurur aa na jaae (I am afraid that I may become proud in vain)
lagu jhumne main suroor aa na jaae (and become merry being drunk in this adulation)

If I do reach this stand, please pull me back to the earth!
Speaking of getting drunk, this is also the theme of my small gift to you. It is a quiz, to work your small grey cells on, which are hopefully unscatehd by alcohol comsumption 😉 .

This quiz-pattern isn’t my invention. Some Hindi-Filmi-Sangeet deewane had been practicing it on the discussion forum rec.music.indian.misc. (RMIM) for a long long time. Here is an example. Since few years it has been abandoned.

PLEASE SEND THE ANSWERS TO THE QUIZ TO
h a r v e y b l o g (a) h o t m a i l dot c o m
PLEASE DON’T POST THEM IN THE COMMENTS SECTION.

This is how the quiz works. The aim is to recognise the song from its antara.

Here is an antara of a song:
main tumhari daasi janam ki pyaasi
tumhi ho mera shringar pritam
tumhari raste ki dhuul le kar
main maang apni sada bharungi

Then comes the clue:
Asking the beloved not to go with the threat of breaking into tears is an old trick known to the master, his wife, his slave and also the fish.

If you already know this antara (which I think you will), you know which song I mean. If you don’t, then ‘Asking the beloved not to go with the threat of breaking into tears’ provides you the clue to the mukhda of the song na jaao saiyan chhuda ke baiyan, kasam tumhari main ro padungi.
The words ‘the master, his wife, his slave’ gives the clue to the title of the film Sahib Bibi aur Ghulam.
The word fish is clue to the actress on whom the song is filmed Meena Kumari. Meena in Sanskrit means a fish.
For correctly guessing the song and naming it, in this case: na jaao saiyan chhuda ke baiyan you get five points and further points for naming the name of the film, music director, playback singer(s), lyricists, actor(s)/actress(es) on whom the song is filmed and recognising the three clues.
na jaao saiyan chhuda ke baiyan…………………………………….5 points
Sahib Bibi aur Ghulam………………………………………………….1 point
Music Director: Hemant Kumar……………………………………….1 point
Playback singer: Geeta Dutt…………………………………………..1 point
Lyricist: Shakeel Badayuni…………………………………………….1 point
Picturised on: Meena Kumari………………………………………….1 point
Recognising all the three clues and explaining them…………….3 points

PLEASE SEND THE ANSWERS TO THE QUIZ TO
h a r v e y b l o g (a) h o t m a i l dot c o m
till 5th of May 2012, 2400 hrs Central European Time.

Scores & Results
The person who scores the maximum number of points is the winner. Multiple winners are possible. You can also keep your answers to yourselves and check the answers, when I post it. If it is okay with you, I will post a list of the persons who participated and their score with the results on 3rd of May 2012.

Prizes
Unlike Madhu, who can give away self-written mystery novels (which by the way are very good) as prizes, mere paas sirf mera dil hai, which you already have taken away.
I hope you enjoy solving this quiz

1.
raaho me meri phool hai taare meri nigaah me
ab naa mujhe pukarnaa, duub chali hoon chaah me
apna nahin hai kuch pata, ae merii bekhudi bata
tu le chali kahan


Although she wondering where her life is going merrily on the paths of love, nobody really believes this former Miss India.

2.
isake pine se tabiyat me ravani aaye
isko bhudaa bhi jo pile to jawani aaye
pine wale tujhe ajayega pine ka mazaa
iske har ghuut me poshida hai jeene kaa mazaa

Fire-weapons surely don’t help a drunkard dance. Sound-alikes of famous film stars don’t either.

3.
dekho hai yeh zindagi yun nahin bekhudi
mujhko behek jaane de baate na kar hosh ki

She is so young, that her drinks seem to just go through her. Is she Shakeel Badayuni’s wife or sister or any other female relative?

4.
nasha pyar ka hai umar bhar rahega
ulfat ke maujo me yeh dil bahega
main ban ke nadiya laharaa rahi hoon
lahare uthi hain usi kaa nasha hai

I am drunk, you are drunk. Everybody is drunk, drunk? This maid of jerky movements in the evening was always special, if veiled or not.

5.
wahan ek rangeen chilman ke peechhe
chamakta hua uska rukhsar hoga
basa lunga ankhon me woh roshni me
yun hi kuchh ilaj-e-dil-e-zar hoga

Even the happy God would like to go back to the place again, where he took the false turn. A man addicted to alcohol doesn’t have too many places to go.

6.
thoda thoda dil pe hai jawani ka nasha
us pe phir nasha hai yeh tere pyar ka
tauba us nashe me ye nasha mil gaya

The illustrious one is not a drunkard yet, but the director will turn him into one in his next film with him, that is why he is of the opinion that being drunk is not a theft.

7.
tumhare aane talak ham ko hosh rahta hai
phir us ke baad hume kuchh khabar nahin hoti

Neither would have you merrily glanced here nor would have the intoxicated breeze come here. Would we Indians say the heart is like that only to this prince and new princess?

8.
sun le meri tu dastan
jeeta hai kismat ki baazi ye jahan
maine kahi maat mujhe peene de

When a person asks not to hold his hand and let him drink right away from morning till evening, it is a sure sign of an addiction even for a Telugu actress.

9.
aap ko dekhke yaad aaya mujhe
aap ne sheeshe se kyu banaya mujhe
patharo ki zameen pe giraya mujhe
toot ke dekhiye sheesha jam ho gaya

And then the drunkard starts wondering, why his/her name has turned to dirt and all the sandalwood of Karnataka will not sweeten this little name. Some say that the affinity to alcohol is laid in the cradle itself even if you are born strong.

10.
jiine se pahlay kaun marey
phikr subah ki kaun kare
gam ki raat se kaun dare
abhi suhani shaam hai

This is like on a Friday evening, where you go off to party with a vodka bottle in the hand but a still lingering bad conscience of projects unfinished. So to say with a furrow on the brow and a song on the lip. Some do raise their addiction to the level of a religion.

Please do give me feedback if the quiz was too easy or too hard or just right enough. When I went through the post it seems to easy for me, because I know the answers already, that is why your feedback would be highly appreciated.
I wish you all lots of fun at guessing and working the clues out.
Looking forward to your answers!

PLEASE SEND THE ANSWERS TO THE QUIZ TO
h a r v e y b l o g (a) h o t m a i l dot c o m
PLEASE DON’T POST THEM IN THE COMMENTS SECTION.

 
164 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Bollywood, Lists, Quiz

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

164 responses to “Happy Birthday to My Blog and a Quiz

  1. memsaab

    April 24, 2012 at 2:30 am

    I have no idea, you Hindi-speaking people just don’t make it easy, but in your screencaps for #2 is there a musical dancing-person decanter? Can you just tell me quietly (if so) where it is from?

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:28 pm

      Bad Indians! To be precise bad Hindi-speaking people! Leaving non Hindi-speaking people out of their games! *hitting on the knuckles with a ruler* 😉
      Arre memsaab, these are all chaals to make oyu learn Hindi double-quick.
      I will give you the info to the decanter as soon as I can follow my steps back and realise fromw hich song I picked it up. You know the images don’t have much to do with the songs mentioned.
      Oops, maybe I should have mentioned it in the post! 😉

       
      • memsaab

        April 24, 2012 at 6:08 pm

        I’m too stupid to learn Hindi, I’ve decided. Sigh. My own cross to bear!

         
        • harveypam

          April 24, 2012 at 10:21 pm

          You aren’t stupid! You are just busy! Looking after two dogs, writing reviews and managing a day-job does take up lots of time.

           
  2. Samir

    April 24, 2012 at 5:08 am

    Happy Birthday to your blog Harvey. Now I can return the favor 😉
    (song: aayi hain bahare mitte zulm-o-sitam; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IT42hKmN418)
    Can I add some more clues to your quiz, and I think you know what kind of clues they would be right 😉
    1) My favorite song of the 10 on your list. The singer is to be paired with Champagne.
    2) Hard to pair this one with any wine/liqueurs, maybe some of those schnapps you like 😉 (Or the mosambi to be found in)
    (song: daaru ki botal me kahe paani bharta hai; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k4fJWxyziXk)
    3) I had not thought of this pairing, but it would have to be Drambuie.
    4) Do not know this song, please email me.
    5) Singer to be paired with a red Bordeaux, although Dustedoff has several better daaru songs from this singer.
    6) Singer to be paired with a red Burgundy, again Dustedoff has a much better daaru song.
    7) A duet with Sauternes & C. Du. Pape for the individual singers, the result is, well let us call it a Beaujolais/Cote Du Rhone/Chianti.
    8) Again a Champagne, and again Dustedoff has a more suitable song.
    9) A sauternes, and paired with an Alphonso mango is best dessert of them all (The clue is also in here)
    10) Another song I like (my #2), the singer has grown in my estimate, and I would call it a red Barolo.

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:37 pm

      Samir!
      Thank you!
      How nice of you to compare my blog with wiping away of crime and coming of love and end of sadness! I am touched! 🙂
      Maybe you had more of Ram ki Leela in mind, when you were thinking of my blog. Or better said a badly put up Ram Leela in an obscure spot in UP. 😉

      Well, adding clues is totally prohibited in the precincts of this quiz, but since you have already falttered me with your chaplusi and we were both born in the same city and we being Indians and always closing an eye for near and dear friends I allow it. 😉
      Moreover your clues just add more to the confusion.

      I am surprised that you pair the first singer with Champagne. In some cases I would agree, but here? But I won’t make much comments here, i will reserve them to the answer post, eh?

      You know what you should write a book on wine, liquers and hindi film songs and their singers. That would be a best-seller! Madhu would surely write a foreword to it.

       
      • Samir

        April 24, 2012 at 6:18 pm

        You are sort of right about #1 being iffy with champagne. I thought about it a lot, and then decided to go with champagne, it is reasonably OK, but perhaps I may find some better (maybe a slightly bitter champagne cocktail)
        Re: that book, Madhu should write the forward & the book, she is much better at writing than me; but thanks for the idea 🙂

         
        • harveypam

          April 24, 2012 at 10:19 pm

          You have written about which wine or liquer goes well with which singer. Could you do a post about 10 wines and which Hindi film songs go well with them? And then other ten wines and so on …? Can you give us a hope of such a post?

           
  3. Shashi

    April 24, 2012 at 6:55 am

    Emailed my responses to you, Harvey. Good luck with the answers 🙂

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:40 pm

      You are fast Shashi! I hope you had some fun as well while solving the quiz!

       
      • Shashi

        April 24, 2012 at 7:56 pm

        You bet ! Resent the replies with clues which I could figure out. I know your dil is large enough to accomodate all of us. But I would like to have a lion’s share in that 🙂

         
        • harveypam

          April 24, 2012 at 10:22 pm

          I can only say mera dil jo mera hota…

           
    • pacifist

      April 27, 2012 at 10:57 pm

      Shashi, how did you manage so quickly?
      Was it the wine/liquor etc?

       
      • harveypam

        April 28, 2012 at 8:23 am

        Shall I tell her, Shashi?

         
        • Shashi

          April 30, 2012 at 11:26 am

          Please, Harvey, do not tell her. Meri izzat aap ke haath main hain !! Agar yeh raaz khul gaya to main kahin ka nahin rahoonga. Mere bete ka kya hoga!!? Uski zindagi to abhi shuru hui hain……Aapko rab ka vaasta….

          If you thought I would say something like that, well….think twice, you are absolutely right 😀

           
          • harveypam

            April 30, 2012 at 11:40 am

            Shashi, you never disappoint!

             
          • pacifist

            April 30, 2012 at 11:17 pm

            LOL!!
            Now I’m even more curious Shashi. :-D.

             
            • dharamgaram

              May 1, 2012 at 5:15 pm

              that’s a secret don’t go and ogle at me like that

               
      • Shashi

        April 30, 2012 at 11:30 am

        that’s a secret 🙂 don’t go and ogle at me like that 😀

         
        • harveypam

          April 30, 2012 at 11:41 am

          Shashi, the Sharabi? 😉

           
  4. dustedoff

    April 24, 2012 at 7:25 am

    My goodness, Harvey! One year old already!! 🙂 Congratulations. Tum jiyo hazaaron saal, saal ke dinon pachaas hazaar… or shall I say, may you create a thousand more lists, with each list getting thousands of comments each? (WordPress will probably go berserk!)

    I am all at sea with your quiz clues. 😦 Guess my mind is too clogged up right now with all the work I need to get done. So will come back to it and have another look when I’m more relaxed.

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Two years already, my dear, TWO YEARS! I hope that hazar saal thing was for the blog and not me! 😉

      “thousand more lists, with each list getting thousands of comments”
      He Ram! I hope WordPress employs me for writing my blog then!

      The songs are really easy. Come with a calm and cool head. You will get it. Nahin to Jungsaab ko puchho. Woh rasta batayenge!

       
      • dustedoff

        April 25, 2012 at 6:16 am

        God blessJang Sahib! But if Jang Sahib ki amma cannot figure out the clues, what can Jang Sahib do?! 😀

        My mistake! Two years old!! (what was I thinking of? See – my brain’s really addled). Twice the congratulations then, and twice the number of wishes. 😉

         
        • harveypam

          April 25, 2012 at 7:53 am

          I thought Jung saab ki amma just has to go in Jung saab mode and she is transformed. But I have more trust in Madhu than Jung saab! She for sure knows more Hindi film songs than Jungsaab.

           
  5. bombaynoir

    April 24, 2012 at 10:39 am

    Harvey! Happy birthday to your blog! 😀

    I will get to the quiz straightaway!

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:46 pm

      Thank you, Sasha!
      Looking forward to your answers!

       
      • bombaynoir

        April 25, 2012 at 6:50 am

        I’m cracking my head but i can’t seem to get it! 😡 Must. Try. Harder!

        But I recognized the picture from number five. Okay, back to work now! 😀

         
        • harveypam

          April 25, 2012 at 7:39 am

          Don’t go by the picttures. They are there just for decoration. You know a post without images looks so drab for me.
          Wish you luck in cracking the clues!

           
  6. pacifist

    April 24, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    >There are many reasons for it, which I myself don’t know!

    Hahahahaha!!

    But congratuations!! Haven’t read the Quiz questions yet, but will do so and hopefully get some answers, after all you have trained me well. 😀

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

      😀
      Thanks pacifist!
      apni guru ki laaj rakhna! 😉

       
  7. pacifist

    April 24, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Goodness! These are very very tough.
    The clues aren’t enough, and they seem to be from songs of 70s which I’m not so well acquainted with. I mean I know them, but they don’t come to my mind easily, as your example did 😉

    I’ll try even though the first attempt was a complete flop 😦

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:50 pm

      If they are tough, it means you will have more fun solving them, no? I am sure you can do it. Maybe one or two are new for you, but most of the songs are surely well-known! 🙂
      Once you get a knack of it, the solving will be easy!

       
  8. pacifist

    April 24, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Got one!! *doing a jig* 😀

     
  9. pacifist

    April 24, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    I think it is much easier to start backwards. Guess the actress or the song/film from the clue, search for the film songs and find if the aantara matches any.
    This was I succeeded in getting one more otherwise I wouldn’t ever guess a single song.
    For that I would have to know the complete lyrics, which I don’t (only a very few of them).

    Now I’ll stop spamming.

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:53 pm

      She’s got it! By George, she’s got it! 🙂
      *doing a jig*

       
    • Shashi

      April 24, 2012 at 8:01 pm

      Good luck, pacifist !! Exactly my way too 🙂

      But let me tell you only this much. I have been very dishonest and Harvey knows that. Yet he’s been so kind to me even after that. I’m Ajit and he is Dilip from “Naya Daur” (1957).

       
      • harveypam

        April 24, 2012 at 10:24 pm

        🙂
        so shall we sing: yeh desh hai veer jawano ka albelo ka mastano ka, is desh ka yaaron kya kehna ?

         
  10. thandapani

    April 24, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    Mujhe to sirf ek hi aaya 😦 No 7 Kya yaar. Sir ye paper bahut difficult hai, out of syllabus hai. Ham hadtal karenge.

    Ab do saal ke ho gaye? Bachche bhi dekte dekhte jawan ho jaate hain sigh.. ab tumhare liye ladki dhoondni padegi.

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 4:57 pm

      Ek ek karke sab aa jayega! Hosla rakho! Aur ye question out of syllabus bilkul nahin hai. Zara dimag se kaam lo. Sab aa jayega. Dekho, pacifist ko dekho, kaisi honhaar hai! 😉

      Ladki ka kya mera blog aachaar dalega? 🙂

       
      • thandapani

        April 25, 2012 at 4:44 am

        nahi aur blog paida karega hehehe.

        Aajkal me kuch vyast hoon. varna zaroor try karti. dekhti hoon ek baar aur try karke

         
        • harveypam

          April 25, 2012 at 7:51 am

          Nahin baba, yahan to ek blog se itna kaam badtha hai aur ek blog aayega to mujhe nauki chhodke ghar bhetna padega.
          Take your own time!

           
          • thandapani

            April 25, 2012 at 11:14 am

            blog ke bachche apne chacha ki help karenge na. Then your blog will write itself while you will just lie back and enjoy the responses.

             
            • harveypam

              April 25, 2012 at 12:00 pm

              aaj kal ke bachche kahan kisko help-welp karte hain?

               
  11. Anu Warrier

    April 24, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Harvey, my brains (and the rest of me) are being *fried* in the heat of Bombay, and you set a quiz!??? Bad, bad harvey!:( Dekhte hai, kitne milte hai.

     
    • Anu Warrier

      April 24, 2012 at 6:51 pm

      Forgot to say “Happy Birthday, harvey’s Blog”.. *Bad, bad, Anu!*

       
      • harveypam

        April 24, 2012 at 10:14 pm

        Harvey’s Blog says thank you and it further asks you not to be so strict to Anu. She is a nice girl!

         
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      You are in Bombay! Greet Bombay from me!
      Yeh to tumhare liye baaye haath ka khel hai
      Proceed like pacifist has suggested!

       
      • Anu WARRIER

        April 25, 2012 at 7:25 pm

        Baaya haath, daaya haath – pish tush. 😦 I got five; unfortunately, I don’t get the time to sit down and sift through the rest of the clues. So I have emailed you my answers.

         
        • harveypam

          April 25, 2012 at 8:14 pm

          Five is good. You can send the others piecemeal as well.
          Hope you are getting along with the heat better than last time.

           
        • pacifist

          April 25, 2012 at 10:08 pm

          FIVE!!??! Well done Anu. I have 2 1/2 only. (I’ve forgotten that lesson about how to get a half 😦 )

           
          • harveypam

            April 26, 2012 at 3:02 pm

            2 1/2 is good! I also forgot how to write half. maybe one just copies it from somewhere. Let me try. ½. Ha, it works!

             
        • Lalitha

          April 26, 2012 at 5:18 pm

          You can think even in that heat? You are one smart young lady!

           
  12. chitrapatsangeet

    April 24, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    Happy birthday Harvey’s blog! You have earned an immense amount of popularity in a couple of years! This gives enough hope to newbies like me 😀

     
    • harveypam

      April 24, 2012 at 10:16 pm

      Thank you, Karthik!
      What is popularity, it comes and goes. Your posts impart so much knowledge about the construct of songs. They are great! Love them!

       
  13. pacifist

    April 24, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    I’m stuck with the list of the films of the Telegu actress. Two films which I was sure would be the ones surprised me by not being the ones. Why harvey? Why?
    LOL at ‘happy god’.

     
    • harveypam

      April 25, 2012 at 7:48 am

      Maybe you remember a certain discussion of ours some time back, where I apologised for not expressing myself better.
      Happy God! 🙂 Most of the clues are constructed in the same manner.

       
  14. Songs Of Yore

    April 25, 2012 at 6:52 am

    Happy birthday and my compliments for an outstanding quiz post. In the first instace I could figure out only #2. I gave up trying for others. Would much rather love reading the anwer post.

     
    • harveypam

      April 25, 2012 at 7:44 am

      Thank you!
      What a pity, you gave up! But doesn’t matter. The quiz is there for the enjoyment of the readers and not for torturing them! 🙂

       
  15. bombaynoir

    April 25, 2012 at 7:12 am

    OH I GOT IT I GOT IT I GOT IT!

    I GOT NUMBER FIVE! I GOT IT!

    -covers mouth-

     
    • harveypam

      April 25, 2012 at 7:46 am

      The benevolent happy god did smile on you, didn’t he?

       
      • bombaynoir

        April 25, 2012 at 12:08 pm

        Hehehe, I like him a lot, that’s how I found out! 😀

         
        • harveypam

          April 25, 2012 at 8:15 pm

          🙂
          How I could leave God out of it.

           
          • bombaynoir

            April 26, 2012 at 5:38 am

            Oh, Harvey! 😀

            You never fail to make me laugh.

             
            • harveypam

              April 26, 2012 at 3:00 pm

              You yourself have a good sense of humour, Sascha!

               
              • bombaynoir

                April 26, 2012 at 3:11 pm

                Thank you! 😉 I’m also having fun with the quiz – got five, then keep getting sidetracked. This is exactly what happens.

                “Okay, so this song is from this movie…” -sees recommended list video-
                -clicks song-
                -clicks other song-

                Etc. 😛

                And of course, you couldn’t leave -him- out of it. 😀

                 
                • harveypam

                  April 26, 2012 at 5:35 pm

                  Five already! Wow! That IS good progress!

                   
                  • bombaynoir

                    April 27, 2012 at 5:34 am

                    Heehee, thanks! I’m a little stuck now, though. I showed it to my grandma and she asked, “Why is it all about drinking?” And she couldn’t identify any. xP I’m really stuck with the Telegu actress one.

                     
  16. Lalitha

    April 26, 2012 at 4:43 am

    My brain is so weary at the moment that nothing seems to sink in. I will wait to see what the answers are, when you put them up. Until then, wishing all of you a good time!

     
    • dustedoff

      April 26, 2012 at 5:41 am

      So will I. I can’t think, my brain’s so addled right now. And will remain for the next few days, at least…

       
      • harveypam

        April 26, 2012 at 2:58 pm

        Doesn’t matter, Madhu! The quiz was supposed to entertain you and let yo have fun and not stress yourself. I wish you that the stressful days are soon bygone and that you have some rest! 🙂

         
      • Lalitha

        April 26, 2012 at 5:13 pm

        Madhu, I am not trying to muscle my way into the “lost sisters and brother club”, but I wrote “addled” and then changed it to “weary”, because that seems to describe me better at the moment! In any case, I would have to be the “lost mausi or chachi”!

         
        • harveypam

          April 26, 2012 at 5:39 pm

          We are all just a big family. One can always change the role between chacha/chachi or mausa/mausi or sister/brother. Just as it suits one. Very chameleon-like!

           
        • dustedoff

          April 27, 2012 at 6:36 am

          😀 Vaise, Lalitha, the lost brothers and sisters club is so large, there’s always room for more people!

           
          • harveypam

            April 27, 2012 at 10:15 am

            How true!
            And we don’t have age, caste, creed, race, gender and sexuality bars/limitations. If you feel like one, you are one!
            So welcome to club, honey!

             
    • harveypam

      April 26, 2012 at 2:59 pm

      Dear Lalitha, your head must be full of other thoughts right now. Settle down and when you are in mood of it you can come anytime (even after years) and if you have the inclination solve the quiz. It is only a game!
      *hugs*
      Take care!

       
      • Lalitha

        April 26, 2012 at 5:17 pm

        Oh Harvey, my head is full of thoughts and my eyes are full of tears most of the time. I come here when I need a change from watching a once young and vibrant person who has now become a bedridden and confused person who doesn’t even know who I am, sometimes, and that is so painful to watch, and who cannot summon the strength to say a few simple words any more or to open his eyes. I need this break, even if I don’t feel like listening to the songs, just reading the lively exchanges keeps me going.

         
        • harveypam

          April 26, 2012 at 5:46 pm

          Lalitha *hugs*
          That surely must be painful. So much more painful to know that one just can’t help. Just to be there as a witness and support. You are a strong person, Lalitha!
          May God give you strength to see you through this trying time. May these moments and hours be also of help and support to you in your evolution. And may God’s grace soften the pain and hurt!
          Send you lots of love and lots of strength over the ocean.
          Love you!

           
        • pacifist

          April 26, 2012 at 6:39 pm

          Lalitha, *hugs*. Even though every person’s pains are their own, I would like to say, I know how this feels.

           
          • Lalitha

            April 27, 2012 at 4:15 am

            Thanks, pacifist and Harvey, for the hugs and support – I do need them!

             
            • dustedoff

              April 27, 2012 at 6:38 am

              And from me, too, Lalitha – *hugs* and, know that I’m with you, even if I’ve never seen you or cannot be there. My heart goes out to you.

               
              • Lalitha

                April 27, 2012 at 5:21 pm

                Thanks, Madhu! Just knowing that I have these friends whom I have never seen, but who share my love for music and are so supportive keeps me going and gives me strength at these times. You know, sometimes, I feel this could have been the script for a movie, but that would make it a very mushy movie and it would bomb at the box office! I get the feeling that I am rambling right now, just like Dad does these days – it must be catching!

                How is your book coming along? Or is it a project? My uncle and aunt are visiting right now, and my aunt is busy, editing her book, so I am getting a glimpse into a writer’s world and what it entails. I have been telling her about you and shown her your blog and website. Maybe the two of you will meet some day.

                 
                • harveypam

                  April 27, 2012 at 5:33 pm

                  Lalitha! Are you on Facebook?
                  Madhu, Raja, Ava, Samir, Atul, Greta and I are quite often there and discuss songs and talk rubbish at Pagle Kahin Ke, which was initiated by Raja. Join us there as well and have some fun. It helps us get out of the daily rut.
                  Would be nice to see you there.
                  Tell me when you join Facebook and I will add you to the page ‘Pagle Kahin Ke’.

                   
                  • pacifist

                    April 27, 2012 at 8:21 pm

                    I had vowed never never to get on to this facebook business, mainly because I spend so much time on blogs and felt it was enough.
                    Now I’m tempted. Pagle Kahin Ke!¨LOL!!

                     
                    • dustedoff

                      April 28, 2012 at 7:26 am

                      Actually, pacifist – you can be as involved (or not) in Facebook as you want. It’s very up to you. And Pagle Kahin Ke is really now one of the main reasons I check Facebook – it has been known to get rid of headaches and bring a laugh to me when I was really depressed. 😀

                       
                    • harveypam

                      April 28, 2012 at 8:24 am

                      Well said, Madhu!
                      I have never left Pagle Kahin Ke without having a hearty laugh!

                       
                    • harveypam

                      April 28, 2012 at 8:23 am

                      You can actively join in or just have a look in and go!
                      I am sure you will like it. It is poora time pass and not only that one gets valuable info to the background of lots of HIndi film songs!
                      for e.g., where the musicians sit when the actors are lip-syncing to the songs.

                       
                  • Lalitha

                    April 27, 2012 at 9:59 pm

                    Are you serious? Pagle kahin ke? Do I want to be known as a Pagli? Oh well, that only confirms what I have always suspected, would be hubby’s answer! Sure, why not? I am already on Facebook, so go ahead and do your end of stuff. Let me see if the paglas and paglis can increase my wisdom, or my paagalpan.

                     
                    • harveypam

                      April 28, 2012 at 8:21 am

                      Pagal hone me kya dar, Lalitha!
                      Yeh mera pagalpan hai, ya hindi gaano ka suroor, tu na pehchane to hai yeh teri nazro ka kusoor!
                      I havve send you an email. Please check it.
                      Looking forward to have you in the illustrious circle of pagals and paglis!

                       
                • dustedoff

                  April 28, 2012 at 7:24 am

                  The book’s getting along fine, Lalitha. Crawling a bit right now, because I’ve not been feeling too well (and suffering from a touch of writer’s block!), but I’ll get back on track soon. I do hope I get to meet your aunt someday!

                   
        • Shashi

          April 30, 2012 at 11:40 am

          Sorry for being so late in sending my best wishes to you, Lalitha. I am sure a person with your sense of humour will come out of any ordeal soon.

          Good luck and many more hugs from my side as well.

           
          • Lalitha

            May 2, 2012 at 12:06 am

            Thanks, Shashi! These blogs have a way of making me smile in spite of myself, especially when I spend some time going through the comments. Since I am tied down to one room these days, I have to amuse myself with the computer, so this is what I am doing, since the other person in the room is in no shape to talk. It is support from all these people whom I have never seen but have met through these blogs that is keeping me smiling these days. How can I ever thank you all for this? I am indeed blessed and grateful.

             
  17. pacifist

    April 26, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    Harvey, I’ve solved 5 of them.
    It takes time so I’m trying a few every day.
    Hope you give us more time.
    Today I’ll tackle 2 more. 🙂

     
    • harveypam

      April 26, 2012 at 2:55 pm

      Shall I extend the submission date?

       
      • pacifist

        April 26, 2012 at 6:35 pm

        Please, please do. Thank you.

         
    • Lalitha

      April 26, 2012 at 5:17 pm

      You are good!

       
  18. pacifist

    April 26, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    For me the best part of the quiz is the number of obscure and very melodious songs that I have come across while doing the research.
    Actually that’s why it’s time consuming, because I get distracted and go from one song to the other and far far away from my target. 😀

     
    • harveypam

      April 26, 2012 at 2:56 pm

      Thank you pacifist! I am glad that you are enjoying the solving of the quiz! Good Luck!

       
  19. harveypam

    April 26, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    On popular pacifist’s demand, the submission date has been extended to the 5th of May 2012.
    PLEASE SEND THE ANSWERS TO THE QUIZ TO
    h a r v e y b l o g (a) h o t m a i l dot c o m
    till 5th of May 2012, 2400 hrs Central European Time.

     
    • pacifist

      April 27, 2012 at 8:22 pm

      LOL!

       
      • harveypam

        April 28, 2012 at 8:26 am

        (in his best Raaj Kumar voice)
        Aap jab LOL karti hai to moti jhad jaate hai! 😉

         
  20. Prakashchandra

    April 27, 2012 at 6:37 am

    Happy Birthday to your/our Blog Harvey ji

    regards
    prakash

     
    • harveypam

      April 27, 2012 at 10:11 am

      Well said Prakashji! Ii IS OUR Blog! Thank you for this single but a very warm and apnapan word. And I mean it from the bottom of my heart! Am very touched by it!

       
  21. Lalitha

    April 28, 2012 at 5:43 pm

    This weary brain of mine actually figured out No. 7! Even I am surprised!

     
    • harveypam

      April 28, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      Wow! Being tired is good for the brain! Because it stops thinking about the other things and can at times concentrate on one thing better without wandering.

       
  22. pacifist

    April 30, 2012 at 12:01 am

    I’ve done 8 😀
    Am stuck with 2 and 4.
    Fire arms cannot be barood (I went about looking for film barood and all that), neither can it be chakkoo churiyan. So what song, film with bandook/pistol/top which hinders a drunkard dance? I’m thinking…thinking…thinking…thud!!!

    As for the maid with jerky movements!! She’s elusive.

     
    • harveypam

      April 30, 2012 at 11:18 am

      Eight is good, pacifist! Eight is very good!
      Firearms are of many kinds but chakoo churiyan i surely not one of them. No real fire in them, no?
      The maid with the jerky movements is not at all elusive, she dances often on the footpath, int recent times not so often but…

       
    • Shashi

      April 30, 2012 at 11:36 am

      Hey Pacifist,

      Congrats on solving 8 questions.

      I found #8 the most difficult. If you have already solved that one, then you will surely solve #2 and #4 too.

       
      • harveypam

        April 30, 2012 at 11:44 am

        Shashi is right and #2 is very easy.

         
  23. bombaynoir

    April 30, 2012 at 5:41 am

    Gaaaah, Harvey, I am stuck! I’ve done five, but I can’t figure out the rest!

     
    • harveypam

      April 30, 2012 at 11:19 am

      Five is good too, Sasha!

       
      • bombaynoir

        April 30, 2012 at 12:58 pm

        I cracked my head but I couldn’t! D:

         
        • harveypam

          April 30, 2012 at 6:35 pm

          If you need any help, just write to me.

           
          • bombaynoir

            May 1, 2012 at 5:13 am

            Really? 😀 Thanks!

             
    • Shashi

      April 30, 2012 at 11:50 am

      Buck up !! Sasha !! You can do it !! Himmat mat hariye !!

       
  24. Shashi

    April 30, 2012 at 11:31 am

    Hi Harvey, keen to know who’s leading the points table.

     
    • harveypam

      April 30, 2012 at 11:43 am

      You are among the first five! 😀

       
      • Shashi

        April 30, 2012 at 11:55 am

        Oh, wow!! Thanks,

        Do you want to reveal who’s in which place? Just curious to know the experts of the trade….:-)

         
  25. Shashi

    April 30, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    Just now got to know Achala Sachdev passed away today. May her soul RIP….

     
    • bombaynoir

      April 30, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      WHAT?! :OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

      OH MY GOD.

       
      • harveypam

        April 30, 2012 at 6:32 pm

        Thanks for the news Shashi!
        She was 95. Though sad for us it is good to know that she was relieved of the pain.

         
        • bombaynoir

          May 1, 2012 at 5:12 am

          Oh, wow… so many… so many people in the past year and this year.

          -cries-

           
          • harveypam

            May 1, 2012 at 11:39 am

            That is the course of things, Sasha! At least they don’t have to suffer more.

             
            • bombaynoir

              May 1, 2012 at 11:59 am

              I guess, but what about Dev?

              Oh. Dev. Right…

               
              • harveypam

                May 1, 2012 at 12:25 pm

                We shouldn’t be selfish. Everybody has the right to go. After all, they had a fulfilled life with lots of accomplishments of which they can be proud of.

                 
                • bombaynoir

                  May 1, 2012 at 1:09 pm

                  I guess. (:

                  I’m listening to Dev’s songs now. Cause that’s what I do. 😀

                   
                  • harveypam

                    May 1, 2012 at 2:59 pm

                    Good!

                     
                    • bombaynoir

                      May 2, 2012 at 8:28 am

                      Try one song from my side! 😀

                      Aap achche lage mujhko huzoor
                      Mere dil ka hai bas yehi qusoor
                      Is liye na lije meri jaan
                      Aur koi saza dije zaroor

                       
                    • harveypam

                      May 2, 2012 at 11:33 am

                      @ sasha
                      Song-Aap naraaz Khuda khair kare (Pyaar mohabbat) (1966) Singer-Rafi, Lyrics-Shailendra, MD-Shankar Jaikishan
                      From Atul’s blog

                       
                    • bombaynoir

                      May 2, 2012 at 2:31 pm

                      Ack, you’re good!

                       
                    • harveypam

                      May 2, 2012 at 9:12 pm

                      You are as well!

                       
  26. sunheriyaadein

    April 30, 2012 at 9:44 pm

    A very happy birthday to your blog, Harvey!
    Hats off to you for coming up with those clues. They are simply mindblowing! I went through the post the day you had shared the link to this quiz but couldnt make head or tail out of it. Then I found a pattern and finally, I’ve cracked all of them (hopefully, at least I think I have) 😛
    4 and 8 took a little time but it was totally worth the effort 😉
    Will mail you the list 🙂

     
    • harveypam

      April 30, 2012 at 11:24 pm

      Well done, Archana!
      Fabulous!

       
    • Lalitha

      May 2, 2012 at 12:08 am

      You got all of them? Wow! I just managed to find the answer to No. 1, which makes my total 3 so far. I am not even going to try to figure out the rest, but will wait for Harvey to post the answers. What is this pattern that you have found? I will try to figure that tomorrow.

       
      • sunheriyaadein

        May 2, 2012 at 9:13 pm

        It’s the same as what Pacifist has mentioned above. Guess the actress from the clue. If you can think of a movie that would make some sense with with movie hint, it would be great. Or else, at least try to figure out a word from the clue given, look through the actress’s filmography and then go through the songs in that movie. Since, all the songs are related to sharab, it wont take long to pin-point the right one.
        The clues are there, and they are very beautifully framed. Once you figure out the pattern, it’s quite simple.
        All the best!
        I’m really sorry to hear about your father’s condition. Hope he’s getting better. Take care of yourself and everybody around you. *Hugs*

         
        • harveypam

          May 2, 2012 at 9:16 pm

          Archana has described it very well! I am very bad at describing procedures.
          Do you mind Archana, if I use this as my quiz manual?

           
          • sunheriyaadein

            May 2, 2012 at 10:52 pm

            Thank you, Harvey! Of course not, please go ahead
            The pleasure is all mine 😉

             
        • Lalitha

          May 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm

          I got the Telugu actress but failed with the “maid of jerky movements”, even after Harvey mentioned that she danced on the footpath! And never mind about the fire weapons and the soundalikes – my mind refuses to wrap itself around those terms! Oh well, I can always blame it on my age – at least I have that as an excuse!

           
          • pacifist

            May 3, 2012 at 8:26 pm

            When you do get to see those jerky movements of the ‘maid’, Lalitha, you’ll laugh your head off. 😀

             
  27. bombaynoir

    May 1, 2012 at 5:17 am

    Why’s everyone getting seven?! I’m stuck at that one! By far, my favorite is five. 😀

    Okay, back to cracking my head.

     
    • harveypam

      May 1, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Check the email I’ve sent you.

       
      • bombaynoir

        May 1, 2012 at 1:09 pm

        Thank you!

         
  28. pacifist

    May 2, 2012 at 11:19 am

    DONE!!! 🙂
    It was FUN!!!
    err ………..that rhymes.

     
    • harveypam

      May 2, 2012 at 11:34 am

      I am so happy for you!

       
    • Lalitha

      May 2, 2012 at 12:16 pm

      You got all of them? And it was fun? Hats off to you!

       
    • sunheriyaadein

      May 2, 2012 at 9:13 pm

      Congratulations!!! 🙂
      And yes, I do agree. It was FUN

       
    • dharamgaram

      May 3, 2012 at 9:40 am

      Congratlifications !! 😀

       
  29. Shilpi Bose

    May 2, 2012 at 12:49 pm

    Glad to be back after my computer sent me on a forced exile. Congratulations on your blogs anniversary. I just don’t have the time to rack (or is it wrack?) my brains or else I would have participated in the quiz. You guys are really good at setting up quizzes.

     
    • harveypam

      May 2, 2012 at 9:12 pm

      Thank you Shilpi!
      Nice to hear from you!It is okay, if you don’t want to participate after all it is just for fun and if you can’t enjoy it, it is not worth it!
      Wish you a good time with carrying out your plans!

       
      • Shilpi Bose

        May 16, 2012 at 8:35 am

        I would have enjoyed participating but yeh Kambakht Time!!

         
        • harveypam

          May 16, 2012 at 10:12 am

          Kambakht time!
          But whenever you have got time, you can always come and try to solve the quiz piece meal. After all it is for enjoyment! Like Basanti says in Sholay ab zabardasti ka sauda tho hai nahin, yeh zamindari ki mazdoori thodi hai, ke marji na marji karna hi pade

           
  30. Lalitha

    May 3, 2012 at 4:40 am

    Well, I have managed five so far, and that’s it for me! I will wait for you to post the answers for the rest. Good luck to all who are still working on it.

     
  31. Lalitha

    May 5, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Do we see the answers tomorrow?

     
    • harveypam

      May 5, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Tomorrow, the answers will be posted!
      Ins’Allah!
      I know the masses are waiting with bated breath! 😉

       
  32. bombaynoir

    May 6, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    Haaaaaaarrrrrveeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyy!

    MY INTERNET WENT OUT! I COULDN’T SUBMIT THE ANSWERS IN TIME! -cries-

     
    • harveypam

      May 6, 2012 at 3:40 pm

      O dear Sasha!
      I am so sorry for that! I was wondering what happened to you.
      😦

       

Leave a Reply

 
