RSS

Spring in the air… Why should I?

19 Feb

Shashi, a contestant in the great Indian Talent Show and also a fellow Dharam-fan, came up with the idea of making a list of bahaar (spring) songs. Since I wasn’t in the spring mood, I asked him if he would like to do a guest post… and he agreed.
My mother always says that a good house is where guests come. If my blog is my house than I am blessed indeed. I have so many guests who come here regularly and also leave comments which give me new ideas and also widen my horizons with new songs. So here is one guest, who is also doing a post and bringing in the spring. After all his name is Shashi (the Sun)!

Shashi’s ten favourite spring songs

Harveypam whose posts I keenly follow did a post on thandi hawa very recently. On commenting that I look forward to a post on Bahar from him in future, he very graciously suggested why don’t I do a guest post myself? I haven’t done a song or movie blog so far, so my work may look very amateurish when compared to stalwarts like Harveypam, Memsaab, Atul, Daddys’ Girl  and DustedOff among others. So if you see any grave inconsistencies in my post, Harveypam ko apna samajh ke maaf kar deejiye (please think of Harveypam as your own and forgive him) 😀
To set the spring rolling, below is a list of my 10 favourite Bahar songs (those songs which have the word in their mukhdas or opening lines)

1) Ae phoolon ki rani, baharon ki mallika – Arzoo (1965)
Music: Shankar-Jaikishan Singer;  Lyrics: Hasrat Jaipuri; Singer: Mohammed Rafi

This romantic song is placed at a very peculiar situation in the movie. Rajendra Kumar sings to his lady love Sadhana, when her marriage has just been fixed with Feroz Khan. Except that they themselves are not aware of it. If not for the wonderful tune and picturesque scene, I would have become very anxious of what would happen next. The song is such that you feel it should go on and on…..(BTW, this is the movie with a very famous “Nahiiiiiiiiiin” moment by Rajendra Kumar)

2) Baharon phool barsaao – Suraj (1966)
Music: Shankar-Jaikishan Singer;  Lyrics: Hasrat Jaipuri; Singer: Mohammed Rafi

Again the same combination except Vyjayanthimala. I guess Rajendra Kumar would have enough of his own bahar numbers to croon when taking his daily shower. Someday in future if I do a male version of “Ram Teri Ganga Maili”, I would rename it as “Krishna Tera Raju Maila” and cast Kumar Gaurav in Raju’s role 😀

3) Baharone mera chaman lootkar – Devar (1966)
Music: Roshan; Lyrics: Anand Bakshi Singer: Mukesh

I haven’t watched Devar, but when I watched this song for the first time, I gathered Deven Verma has married Sharmila Tagore claiming to be a poet. Of course, Dharmendra who is the real poet is very upset by this and sings this song at their wedding reception.
I also wanted a clarification. In some sites, I see Kishore Kumar’s name mentioned in the cast credits. Can anyone confirm if he did a guest appearance in the movie?

4) Baharein Phir Bhi Aayegi – Baharein Phir Bhi Aayegi (1966)
Music: O. P. Nayyar; Lyrics: S. H. Bihari Singer: Mahendra Kapoor

Another Dharmendra number though on a very positive note. I watched this movie a long time back and remember he plays a journalist in the movie. He’s on his way from his village to the city where he has to report for duty. In one stanza of the song, he very sweetly buys candy from a poor buy and gives it back to him. The smile on the boy’s face encapsulates the entire theme.  Of course, Dharmendra didn’t even need to act; he was so natural.

5) Aaye Din Bahar Ke – Aaye Din Bahar Ke (1966)
Music: Laxmikant Pyarelal; Lyrics: Anand Bakshi Singer: Lata Mangeshkar

Before you dethrone Rajendra Kumar and crown Dharmendra as the King of bathroom singers, let me remind you this song is lip synched by Asha Parekh in the movie. Yeah, her leading hero happens to be Dharmendra but he had no need to memorize the lyrics….the Mohammed Rafi-Lata Mangeshkar feud was still on during this period, so I guess many duets were played as solo numbers. It’s a dream sequence and a close-up of Dharmendra is shown just before the song starts. (Pic courtesy Daddy’s Girl) Need I say anything more?

6) Baaghon Main Bahar Hai – Aradhana (1969)
Music: Sachin Dev Burman Lyrics; Anand Bakshi Singers: Lata Mangeshkar and Mohammed Rafi

One of the lightest moments in the movie which is otherwise filled with so many dramatic and…well. …erotic (remember “Roop Tera Mastana”) moments
This song comes at a time when Sharmila Tagore was almost through with her share of hardships in the movie. The fact that she is going to blessed with a son and daughter-in-law only spruced up my “Happiness Quotient”.

7) Mast Baharon Ka Main Aashiq – Farz (1967)
Music: Laxmikant-Pyarelal Lyrics: Anand Bakshi Singer: Mohammed Rafi

I was trying to imagine how it would be if Jeetendra were to sing this number while taking his daily shower. I am sure he would be our very own Keith Moon.
This movie catapulted him to the “star bracket” after being declared a flop in in its initial 10 weeks. The leading lady Babita was already a star with her debut movie “Dus Lakh” (1966). Aruna Irani featured only in this song and mentioned in an interview that the dance master Hiralal used to cane the actors to get their dance steps right.

8) In Bahaaron Main Akele Na Phiro – Mamta (1966)
Music: Roshan Lyrics: Majrooh Sultapuri; Singers: Mohammed Rafi/Asha Bhonsle

No, I wouldn’t coronate Dharmendra yet.  Partly because he’s shared the honors with Suchitra Sen in this song. I simply don’t know why the two didn’t appear in another movie together. She had a double role in the movie, but he hardly had any highlight scenes in the movie. Why does Asit Sen (the movie director) do this? He did it in Khamoshi (1969) too. Dharmendra hardly had 5 minutes.

9) Kabhi to Milegi Baharon Ki Manzil – Aarti (1962)
Music: Roshan; Lyrics: Majrooh Sultanpuri Singer: Lata Mangeshkar

I don’t remember anything of this movie since I watched it in my pichla janam (last birth). But I am happy about one thing – it just saved Dharmendra from a definite crowning ceremony. He is not Meena Kumari’s leading man in the movie.  Atul has done the song review, so I don’t know if I will be able to do more justice than him.

10) Bahaaron ki Baaraat – Yakeen (1969)
Music: Shankar Jaikishan; Lyrics: Hasrat Jaipuri Singer: Mohammed Rafi

Yakeen maniye Dharmendra still can’t be crowned  as the king. Why? One RK (Rajesh Khanna) had taken over from another (Rajendra Kumar). Still don’t believe me? Rajesh had the other Bahar song in “Do Raaste” (1969) – “Fiza ke phool pe aati kabhi bahar nahin” apart from the above Aradhana number . Well he also starred in “Baharon Ke Sapne” (1967) before that !! not to forget “Baharon mera jeevan bhi sawaaron” from his debut movie “Aakhri Khat (1966) !!!

Lagta hai mujhe “baahar” jaane ka rasta jaldi dhoondhna padega warna….(Looks like I need to find a way “out” very soon or else…..)
That’s it from my side folks; I hope you enjoyed reading the songs as much as Harveypam did.
BHAAGO!!

 
98 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2012 in Bollywood, Guest Post, Lists

 

98 responses to “Spring in the air… Why should I?

  1. Anu Warrier

    February 19, 2012 at 4:40 am

    Shashi, good selection 🙂 (And a big ‘thank you’ to harvey for hosting this post.) With you and Madhu posting song lists after song lists, where am I going to find the time to do any work??

    So, let me add to the list 🙂

    A lovely Lata number from ParakhO sajna, barkha bahaar aayi
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G_KCiPOmNEg)

    A laughing Meena Kumari in Azaad
    (dekhoji bahaar aayi: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a7BRutWMt7w)

    With my favourite RK (how could I resist, harvey???): Hum tum ye bahaar from Amber
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DVQU5QxrkrA)

    And to make reparations; here is your favourite Nanda (she looks very, very pretty in this).Barkha Bahaar aayi from Barkha (Not as good as the RK song, but hey!)
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cTlL9x-_Fo)

    A moustachioed Dev Anand and a beautiful Bina Rai in Insaniyat (What is a post or a comment without a Dev Anand number?)
    (aayi jhoomti bahaar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uRicVSMr1kY)

    Aaye bahaar banke lubhakar chale gaye from Rajhath
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kRDyiGZy_o4)

    And this one, because I love the flute in this composition:
    (nindiya se jagi bahaar from Hero: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eqVZm_gZi4o)

    And now I will ooze away before I make this comment a post in itself. 🙂

     
  2. Anu Warrier

    February 19, 2012 at 4:48 am

    Why aren’t my links appearing??? 😦 Harvey please, put these links where I have mentioned the songs? And delete all these extra comments.

    This is the link to the Aap aaye banke lubhakar chale gaye from Rajhath
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hHR3GMfNJ3A)

    Sorry for the trouble!
    (This comment has been modified by the editor with the *permission* of the writer)

     
    • harveypam

      February 19, 2012 at 9:51 am

      I already added the links to the songs afore mentioned.
      And it is no trouble at all for me. I am sorry that wordpress swallows your links. 😦
      You didn’t mention the Rajhat song before:That is a beautiful song, isn’t it? Love it.
      I hope you don’t mind the fact that I am deleting the Barkha song from the last comment. 🙂

       
      • Anu Warrier

        February 19, 2012 at 5:50 pm

        Harvey, I mentioned the Rajhath song and put in the link for the Chirag one! My brains are really getting addled. Thank you so much for correcting them.

         
        • harveypam

          February 19, 2012 at 6:08 pm

          WordPress goes nuts at times.
          Last time while commenting from ‘manage comments’ page it showed the videos you had posted in the comments by Richard, Prakashchandra and Madhu. I replied to all of them saying that you already had mentioned these songs and afterwards I realised the folly of it all. I had to go then and delete all the messages and reply again AT 1 AM!!!!!!!!

           
          • Shashi

            February 21, 2012 at 5:35 am

            I didn’t realise its such a tough task putting links and videos on wordpress.

             
  3. AK

    February 19, 2012 at 6:46 am

    Another good Bahar song:

    Bahar ban ke wo muskuraye by Lata Mangeshkar from Apne Hue Paraye
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smVT-lv9l8k)

     
    • Shashi

      February 19, 2012 at 8:34 am

      Thanks, AK. I am hearing this song for the first time, but there seems to be a faint similiarity.

       
  4. Shashi

    February 19, 2012 at 8:26 am

    My dear Harvey, Thanks very much once again not just for the post, but also for the the link to singing audition.

    Your family must be truly believing in the adage “Atithi Devo Bhava” – (Guests are like Gods).

    ( BTW, my name means the moon 🙂 )

     
    • harveypam

      February 19, 2012 at 10:29 am

      Sorry for that mistake with the name. My school teacher, it seems, made a mistake.

      Atithi Devo Bhava” – (Guests are like Gods). That was the term I was searching for. 🙂 I don’t know if all our guests were treated like that, but my mother surely used to cook a lot.

      It was a pleasure for me to host your bahaar songs, Shashi. It also gave me an opportunity to go through bahaar songs myself. The snow is thawing here as well and soon we will have spring here too. I like all the songs, which you have listed.

      Here are some of my favourite bahaar songs.
      Quite an unusual song in its composition by Vasant Desai. Very soothing rendition by Lata: aa gai bahaar from Nai Taleem [1949]
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIdD7xgYEFo)

      Another slow and this time a sad bahaar song sung by Lata from Alif Laila [1953]
      (bahaar aayi khili kaliyan: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DX8qnOOGNvQ)

      In contrast to the above song, this one is more famous. aa jaa ke intazar me from Halaku
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MVV5GIVs83k)

      One of my favourite Naushad composition: jhoole me pawan ke aayi bahaar from Baiju Bawra [1952].
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kSRw9j3f0to)

      This one is also quite well known. deewana mastana from Bambai ka Babu. I love the way they tease each other in this song.
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mf7PBnFrH5A)

      This famous song by Pankaj Mullick from Doctor [1941] is so nice. I didn’t know it was a train song too.
      aai bahaar from Doctor [1941]
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kHEajkqb_oE)

      Cham cham naachat aayi bahaar from Chhaya
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FmgisDxvh9c)

      Just one more song: ye kaun aaya from Baazi [1951]
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fh3Q8ZoBSMg)

      Thanks again for doing this list, Shashi!

       
      • Shashi

        February 21, 2012 at 5:38 am

        You have compiled a very good list of your own Harvey. When it comes to 30s, 40s and maybe early 50s, I am like Sachin Tendulkar doing theatre 😀

        I would have heard the names ofabout 10% of the movies being mentioned here.

         
  5. Shashi

    February 19, 2012 at 8:31 am

    Thanks for the additions, Anu. I just followed my instincts. The ones which came to my memory found their way to this post. I think the first 7-8 came just like that.

    For the remaining, I was forced to think 🙂

     
    • Anu Warrier

      February 19, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      Shashi, you’re welcome 🙂 Fact is, I had fun adding the first few that came into my mind. If I’d begun thinking about Bahaar songs, harvey would have blocked me from his blog. 🙂 And thank you once again for taking the time to put up a post, though harvey seems to have done just fine once you stoked his imagination!

       
      • harveypam

        February 19, 2012 at 6:04 pm

        Anu, I would never ever block you from my blog. I would do it only if you ask me for it.

         
        • Shashi

          February 21, 2012 at 5:49 am

          Harvey, Anu is a “Warrior” but she’s added that smiley to show she’s kidding 🙂 I am sure she knows you are a very generous host.

           
    • harvey

      March 14, 2012 at 9:40 am

      I had never heard this song before, thank you for the intro!
      So you have spring already! It is just starting here now, what with sudden cold spells, but right now it is pretty warm, but right now it is only snow drops, blue stars and crocus for us. Tulips will come later.
      Shakeel most probably didn’t know of sudden snow stroms from the SE of the USA. Good thing, it kept his optimism alive!

       
  6. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 11:33 am

    Song from Chhoti Bahen:Sudesh kumar,Nanda
    (bagon me baharon me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wo4hmUR9s-o)

    Song from Mera ghar Mere bachche(1960):subiraj,naaz:Mukesh,SumanKalyanpur:Sardar Malik
    (baharon se puchho mere pyar ko tum: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=prWdqI9MV68&feature=related)

     
  7. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 11:37 am

    Taqdeer(1967)Subash Ghai,Sushil kumar(of Dosti)Faridajalal,Jalal agha
    (aaiye bahaar ko hum: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aT1G1qsEnMg)

     
  8. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 11:41 am

    Oh sorry What`s happening I am providing wrong links again and again for namasteji song:
    Namsteji(1965)Mukesh,lata:Mahmood,Ameeta:G.S.Kohli
    (baharon thaam lo ab dil: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T9I_bOj_yic)
    Hope this time I am right

    Baaghi(1953):
    (baharen hum ko dhoondengi, na jaane hum kahan honge: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UZSj2M9fgmE)

     
  9. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Barkha Bahaar(1973)Laxmi pyare my favourite
    (Chham Chham Rut Barse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uzc_4y0Cx_o)

    Rajkumar:
    (aa jaa aayi bhar dil hai: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=32Oe0rdWNbY&feature=fvst)

     
  10. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 11:58 am

    Dekha Pyar tumhara:
    (aaye bahaar mere angana me: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-BWyyXe6zY)

    Junoon:
    (sawan ki aayee bahaar re: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dLM-9Ds1MtY&feature=related)

    Waapas:1969:Alka,
    (Ayi Baharon Ki Sham Kya Jane Phir Kiske: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OqhS8oY6VtI)

     
  11. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Phir Kab milogi(1974)
    (le gayi khushboo maang ke bahaar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iakov0LyLiA)
    SORRY again for the 2 times wrong video links, can you remove the wrong video links ???

     
    • harveypam

      February 19, 2012 at 1:43 pm

      Dear Prakashchandra, i have edited your comments as per your request. Thanks for taking up so much effort to put up the right song.Wordpress, it seems, does tend to jumble up the youtube links. Sorry for that.

       
    • Shashi

      February 21, 2012 at 5:41 am

      Thanks for your comments. As I said in one of my earlier comments, I did very little thinking when compiling this list. Looking at your list, how I wish I had thought a bit more. Some of the songs you have added are much better in melody than some of my own (Ex: Rajkumar).

       
  12. Ava Suri

    February 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    OMG Shashi, this is a wonderul selection. I just did a post on men singing praises of their beloved and found myself using many Rajendra Kumar songs. Couldn’t help it, he was there in so many great songs, likewise Biswajeet. By the number of songs posted here I wonder if the word ‘bahar’ was a big favorite with the lyricists.

    I love all the songs posted here, hard to pick a favorite.

    You are right about the Devar song. Deven Verma goes to get a ‘dekko’ at Sharmila who is supposed to be matched with Dharmendra. But his heart goes baiman and he tricks the family into getting him married to Sharmila instead, and passes Shashikala on to Dharmendra, which is why the lyrics are so loaded – baharon ne mera chaman loot kar khija ko ye ilzam kyon de diya.
    And esp – me samjha nahi ae mere hamnashin, raqibon ko katib banate nahi. I love it.

     
    • Shashi

      February 21, 2012 at 5:51 am

      Thanks for that additional info on the movie, Ava. BTW, was Kishore Kumar in the movie as well?

       
  13. dustedoff

    February 19, 2012 at 2:30 pm

    Just today I was thinking that spring is here in Delhi, because though the nights are cold, the days are warm and leaf buds have begun appearing on the mulberry tree outside our house…. and here is a post on bahaar songs! Great list, Shashi – wonderful songs, there, including some of my favourites. And there are more favourites among the songs other people have added in their comments. 🙂

    Another Rajendra Kumar-bahaar song, Aap aaye bahaar aayi:
    (aap aaye bahaar aayi: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JAtFjvKzuhg)

     
    • Shashi

      February 21, 2012 at 5:42 am

      I did think of this song, but didn’t want too. The way Rafi croons “Aap Aaye Bahar Aayee” in the song didn’t match up to my “Like quotient” 🙂

       
    • pacifist

      February 22, 2012 at 1:18 am

      So colourful!! 🙂

       
  14. dustedoff

    February 19, 2012 at 2:32 pm

    Oh, and another one. Not a favourite song of mine, but it was popular once upon a time. Aane se uske aaye bahaar:

    (Film: Jeen ki Raahhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vmBgics9d8k&feature=related)

     
    • Shashi

      February 21, 2012 at 5:44 am

      Somehow I never subscribed to the songs of JKR even though they were huge hits. Jeetendra tried to be “too positive” in the movie which is what puts me off….

       
    • harvey

      February 21, 2012 at 2:42 pm

      Madhu, how I hate this song! I don’t have any reason for it, just like that!

       
      • dustedoff

        February 22, 2012 at 6:04 am

        You know, this is what I call a prime example of a song that one heard a lot of at one time (it was very popular even when I was a kid, which was well after the movie had been made)… but which I’ve never been able to like. I too don’t know exactly why I don’t like it (well, Jeetendra anyway is not a favourite of mine, but I don’t like the audio itself. Something too loud and repetitive about the music.)

         
        • harvey

          February 22, 2012 at 9:14 am

          I had the same experience. It is a song, which I think, I often heard at the channawala shop or at the barbers or just while walking on the street. And i was like why, why, why?
          But like many things in India, one just learns to accept it as it is: It is like that only! 😉

           
          • dustedoff

            February 22, 2012 at 9:37 am

            Maybe we heard too much of it. Familiarity breeds contempt! 😉

             
  15. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 2:34 pm

    Ulfat ki nayee manzilein:
    rafi,lata:Kalyanji anandji:(raj kumar,waheeda,sadhana-1968/1994)
    (baharon se kahenge nazaon se kahenge: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IlU9tsXJzEU)

    Chaalis din(1959)(Nishi,Premnath:Babul)(mukesh,asha):
    (KAHO AA KE BAHAR KARE MERA SINGAR MUJHE PYAR MILA: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2p6rbUblwg)

    Akhri Khat(1966)Khayyam:Kaifi Azmi:Indrani mukherjee:Lata:
    (Baharon Mera Jeevan Bhi Sanwaro: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9_QpJXKoCA)

     
    • harvey

      February 21, 2012 at 2:39 pm

      Why the date 1964/1994 for Ulfat?

       
      • Shashi

        February 21, 2012 at 2:50 pm

        Ulfat ki Nayi Manzilein was released due to Raj Kumar’s efforts in 1994. It was shot in the late 60s. Of course, its fate at the box office wasn’t much different than those of other delayed movies.

         
        • harvey

          February 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm

          That is news for me. Thanks for the info.

           
  16. Prakashchandra

    February 19, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    Have you heard this another all time favourite of mine:(Thoda Bahaar kam hai is mein)But I want you to listen this:
    Girls Hostel:Rafi,Asha:Ravi:Nalini Jayawant,Ajit:1962:S.H.Bihari:
    (ye haseen raat ye bahar ye sama: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nLqLSaBJ5JU)

    Mom ki gudiya:Laxmipyare:Anand Bakshi:Ratan Chopra,Tanuja:
    (bagon me bahaar aayi: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkuL1zDlC3U)

     
    • harveypam

      February 19, 2012 at 4:13 pm

      I had forgotten both of them. Thanks for reminding me of them. Very nice!

       
  17. Samir

    February 20, 2012 at 2:03 am

    I cannot believe I am the first to add “Din Hai Bahaar Ke”, all your regulars must be having an off day 🙂
    (Waqt: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWZ-5spm_OY)
    Usually I am the one who brings up 70’s and I at least 3 for you
    1) Jeetendra in Banphool
    (Main Jahan Chala Jaoon Bahaar Chali Aaye: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z9EZ373V7SM)
    2) Feroz Khan & Mumtaz in Upaasna (although not a very “springy” somg)
    (darpan ko dekha: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HIcm-z6KqfI)
    3) And you should by now have guessed #3, another Khan brother with Mumtaz 😉

    Great post by the guest Shashi

     
    • harvey

      February 20, 2012 at 10:21 am

      The answer is jeena ka din mar jaane ka from Gomti Ke Kinare!!!!
      Ain’t I a good disciple? 😉

      (jeena ka din mar jaane ka mausam: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2p0k9WtxVHc)

       
    • Shashi

      February 21, 2012 at 5:46 am

      Thanks for the addition and the appreciation, Samir 🙂

       
  18. Prakashchandra

    February 20, 2012 at 11:02 am

    Fashion:1957:
    (baharon se puchho: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ckJ_TgHEVyg&feature=related)
    Hemant Kumar,Lata Mangeshkar

     
  19. Shilpi Bose

    February 21, 2012 at 7:07 am

    Great list Shashi and Harvey, my favourites are the ones from Junoon (Saawan Ki Aayee Baahar Re) and Din Hai Bahaar Ke from Waqt.

     
    • Shashi

      February 21, 2012 at 10:18 am

      Thanks for your comments, Shilpi. These days I plan to watch Satyakam (1969). It would be great if you could share some information from the movie which Tarun Boseji would have shared with you.

       
      • Shilpi Bose

        February 22, 2012 at 2:27 pm

        About Satyakam, well Shashi, mum used to say that dad was very impressed or to be more precise he was moved by Ashok Kumar’s performance particularly towards the end, mum used to say every time she saw the film, “you know your father stayed back to watch his idol Ashok Kumar perform although he was finished for the day and could have packed up and returned home”.

         
        • Shashi

          February 24, 2012 at 4:43 am

          Finally watched this movie last night. When Tarunji makes his appearance, I thought he would play a negative character. But was charmed by the way it turned so positive towards the end.

          Unfortunate the Hrishida-Tarunji combo was not there in many more movies.

           
  20. Lalitha

    February 21, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    I will post after I listen to all the songs! However, we had a cold snap last week, so I don’t know if my tulips will bloom next month, since some of them had already set out their blooms, so who knows if bahar will visit us this year!

     
    • harvey

      February 21, 2012 at 2:35 pm

      Here only the common snow drops had started peeking out when the cold wave hit us. Now everything is covered in snow, but since we are having again a spell of warm weather, I think the snow drops and winter aconite will start appearing soon. For the tulips we will have to wait till April for them to appear. Don’t loose heart, maybe they have still survived. The tulips can be very hardy at times..

       
    • Shashi

      February 22, 2012 at 8:11 am

      Sure, Lalitha. But do let us know your list too.

       
  21. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 1:09 am

    Spring in the air….why should I?

    hahahaha.
    Well we have seen several reasons for ‘why’ in the fabulous songs listed in the post and comments.
    And if that is not enough (it never is – more songs the better) here is one from the good old days when Lata’s voice used to be so sweet and fresh like bahar itself.

    (DIN SUHANE MAUSAM BAHAR KA -“POONAM-1952”: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ljqNGjsulLQ)

     
    • pacifist

      February 22, 2012 at 1:12 am

      wordpress is really playing up today. Now my post which should have been last gets posted somewhere here.

       
    • harvey

      February 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm

      Glad that you noticed th humour of it! I thought I was the only one! 😉
      Lata sounds so nice in this.

       
  22. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 1:46 am

    Spring is also the time for holi.
    ‘dekho holi ki aayee bahar dekho’

    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f7hIAixNTFo&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PL42FF8C0826D8AD7D)

     
    • harveypam

      February 23, 2012 at 11:08 am

      Vyjayanthi and Pradeep Kumar. I had thought they acted only in Nagin together. Nice one. It is always a pleasure to watch Vyjayanthi dance. It looks like as if the song has some tragic end, no?

       
  23. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 1:56 am

    A very colouirful typically ‘bahar’ sounding song with a lot of flowers, and lovely flute.
    (phool khile aaye din bahaar ke from Qaid Me Hai Bulbul: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JDfvhgFPeAA)

     
  24. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 2:07 am

    One more. (It’s past midnight here, but I had a cup of coffee and am wide awake – so, bahar songs 🙂
    (saanwale salone aaye din bahaar ke from Ek Hi Raasta: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=81HDCeczv8w)

     
    • pacifist

      February 22, 2012 at 2:17 am

      Don’t get discouraged by this song from 1940 – ‘mat bolo bahar ki batiyan’ – they don’t mean it. 😀

      (Prem Nagar 1940: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k93_k9KC21k)

      harvey if you are wondering why I’m posting one song after another instead of together, then it is because I have fears of wodrpress misbehaving and all my hard work going down the drain.

       
  25. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 2:28 am

    Last one – for now, though I’m wondering if it qualifies as the line with word ‘bahar’ comes in the verse and not the refrain

    ‘abhi abhi to aaee ho *bahar* ban ke chaai ho

    (abhi na jaao chhod kar from Hum Dono: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAa9XqBw7ag&feature=fvsr)

     
  26. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 2:47 am

    Anu, for you – another Raj kapoor song 🙂
    (ni baliye rut hai bahaar ki from Kanhaiya: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q8w-67p_TXU)

    I can’t seem to stop.
    One can always watch Shyama. Here she is, pretty as always.
    (aayi aayi bahaar aaj re – Panchayat; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HqgezuI9RNM)

    And since Anu has already posted the beautiul Pankaj mallick song from Doctor, here’s another one about bahar from the same film. The song starts at about 2.00, before that there’s some childish flirting going on.
    (aayi nit nayi rut ki bahar – Doctor 1941; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x85nNHnKzuM)

    This is for me, a very short one (incomplete?), but I love this classical stuff.
    (aai re bahaar ki rut matwari from Darsh 1967: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHj1qEO10yE)

     
    • Shashi

      February 22, 2012 at 8:13 am

      Thanks very much Pacifist for the list. And yes, “bahar banke chhayi ho” is the same bahar. Its a line from a famous duet in “Hum Dono” (1961). I didn’t include it since the word doesn’t appear in the “mukhda”.

       
    • harveypam

      February 23, 2012 at 11:27 am

      Thanks for the bahaar of songs!
      The Ek hi Rasta song is so cute.
      sunil Dutt and Meena look so good together.
      Love the way Meena tries to clap her hands and loses her balance at 1:06. It looks so natural!
      Mat bolo bharon ki batiyan has such an old charm to it.
      Nutan looks so good in Ni baliye, but the song is not one of my favs.
      I prefer aayi aayi bahar aaj re from Panchayat.Maybe Shyama’s 1000 Watt smile helps things. Do you know by any chance who the other lady in the song is?
      BTW it was I who posted the Doctor song aayi bahar aayi, but it doesn’t matter, is haath ne post kiya ki us haath ne, ek hi bath huyi!
      Had to laugh at aloo jaisi naak hai. I think I also would get very much irritated if somebody interrupts my work like that.
      aai re ruth bahar ki is lovely. makes me want to investigate more of its songs.

       
      • pacifist

        February 23, 2012 at 3:52 pm

        harvey, I think that actress with Shyama in ‘panchaayat’ is Pandari Bai, who’s actually the heroine of the film.

        ooops. Yes, of course it’s you who posted the song from Doctor 😀

         
        • harvey

          February 23, 2012 at 6:48 pm

          She is Phandaribai? I was always thinking that she must be an old woman. How names can deceive!

           
  27. pacifist

    February 22, 2012 at 11:11 am

    Well, it’s a new day, and I’m back like a bad penny because there was this song running in my head till I dozed off last night Reason? It’s at dustedoff’s as ghazal. I thought that it deserved to be here too as a ‘bahar’ song. It’s beautiful.
    Saba se yeh keh do ke kaliyan bichchaaye
    woh dekho, woh jaan-e-*bahar* aa raha hai

    (Film: Bank Manager: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAdyUpKWW4w)

     
    • harveypam

      February 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

      🙂 Saba se kehdo ke kaliyan bhichae is such a beautiful song. It is sure among one of my high favs.
      Everytime I hear it it make sme feel good.

       
  28. chitrapatsangeet

    February 22, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    I am late to the party 😦
    2 of my favourite spring songs, which dont have “bahar” in them

    1.
    (ketaki gulab juhi champa chameli from Basant Bahar: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcqmOaQSPDA)
    I have chosen this because the lyrics describe the basant ambience very well. The raga is “Basant Bahar”, sung during spring.

    2. This portion of the song, presents a vivid decription of spring. The lyrics has everything-flowers everywhere in the gardens, wind blowing, the cuckoo singing…everything. Raag bahar.

    (sakal barat gagan chalat purwaiyi ri from Mamta: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=Wwv29uUBiZs#t=81s)

     
    • chitrapatsangeet

      February 22, 2012 at 4:55 pm

      The relevant portion of the clip starts at 1:21. Harvey, can you please make the correction to start at the correct moment?

       
      • harveypam

        February 23, 2012 at 11:48 am

        I don’t know how to make a youtube clip start at the appropriate moment. Can you guide me?

         
    • harveypam

      February 23, 2012 at 11:47 am

      Thanks for the flwoer bouquet with ketaki Gulab Juhi, Karthik. I listened to it twice in a row now.
      How about a film jugalbandi post? Won’t that be a good idea. You are the perfect person to do it!
      Hum gawanwa na jaibe ho is such a sweet song. It says that it is lata singing, but the timbre of her voice sounds so different.

       
      • chitrapatsangeet

        February 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

        Ya, Hum Gawanwa is extremely beautiful! But from 1:21 we have a lovely description of the spring 🙂

         
        • chitrapatsangeet

          February 23, 2012 at 11:31 pm

          Go to 1:21 in youtube, pause, right click and copy video url at current time.

           
          • harvey

            February 24, 2012 at 4:51 pm

            I did as you told me to, but it doesn’t seem to work!

             
        • harveypam

          February 24, 2012 at 4:37 pm

          Of course it is! I got the basant song as well. 🙂

           
  29. chitrapatsangeet

    February 22, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    BTw Anu, this was about spring, how come you posted “Barkha Bahar” songs? 😀

     
    • Shashi

      February 23, 2012 at 4:57 am

      Point 🙂

       
      • harveypam

        February 23, 2012 at 11:49 am

        Well, the barkha bahar also brings in bahar! 🙂

         
  30. chitrapatsangeet

    February 22, 2012 at 5:04 pm

    Couldnt resist posting one more-describes Basant ritu (no bahar) – feel free to remove if irrelevant 🙂
    (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J390o0uFQXk)

    Atlast, a bahar song
    (dekho mausam kya bahaar hai from Tower House: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pnHBoDHhd8k)

     
  31. chitrapatsangeet

    February 22, 2012 at 5:21 pm

    a song full of Chitragupta sweetness
    (abke bahaar aayi hai tumhare naam se from Aulad: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jf6P1tB_mQw)

     
    • Shashi

      February 23, 2012 at 4:57 am

      Good selection chitrapatsangeet. I knew that there will be more Bahar songs, but didn’t realise that there will be these many.

       
    • harveypam

      February 23, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Listened to the Stree song after a long long time! Brought back memories!
      Dekho mausam is such a lilting song. love it!
      Jeetendra doesn’t suit the beautiful abke bahaar aayi hai at all. The song sounds from a different age totally.

       
  32. Lalitha

    February 23, 2012 at 11:11 pm

    I haven’t gone through all the songs, so I am hoping this song hasn’t been posted already:

    (in baharon me akeli na phiro from Mamta: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2TT2jvDdQyc)

    One of these days, I hope to have enough time to go through all the songs and savor them leisurely. These last two or three weeks have been nothing but crazy, and I came here because this song suddenly came to my mind.

     
    • Lalitha

      February 24, 2012 at 8:41 pm

      Thanks, Shashi and Harvey, for politely refraining from telling me that this song was listed in the main post itself! In any case, this only confirms what I have suspected for some time now – I am losing my mind!

       
      • harvey

        February 24, 2012 at 10:36 pm

        Most probably it is all of together losing our minds. And it is in music, that we are losing it.
        Subha aur shaam gana hi gana, kyu nahin lete piya ek bar khana!

         
        • Shashi

          March 9, 2012 at 9:15 am

          likes this. 🙂

           
  33. Shashi

    February 24, 2012 at 4:46 am

    Heart warming to see so many additions to the list and encouraging feedbacks. I think I should do one more post on a different theme. But it would be a while before I do so.

    I guess Harvey’s blog site made all the difference to many more people reading this post. Thanks, Harvey !

     
    • harvey

      February 24, 2012 at 4:54 pm

      It is indeed nice to read the comments and share the views on it, Shashi!
      You’re welcome, Shashi!

       
  34. Richard S.

    February 25, 2012 at 9:06 am

    Definitely enjoying this post – there are so many uplifting spring/”bahar” songs…

    Here’s a favorite of mine:

    (aayi bahaar jiya dole mora from Arzoo (1950): http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=go7Ifh7kUdg)

     
  35. Richard S.

    February 25, 2012 at 9:36 am

    This is really nice – Noor Jehan singing for Rehana! (Though it’s from 1967, and it’s from Pakistan…)

    (balma bahaar aayi: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W4q57H5ivfA)

     
    • harvey

      February 25, 2012 at 1:32 pm

      Although both the songs were new for me, I liked them both. The sound quality of the second could have been better.
      How about this: laut aao mere pardesi bahar from Pakeezah
      (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BNUj2-TyDB4)

       
  36. Anu Warrier

    February 29, 2012 at 9:23 pm

    Seeing some posts meant for me only today. pacifist, thank you for the Raj Kapoor post – and you posted it on harvey’s blog! See harvey, nothing bad happened to you (which means you can post more RK songs).

    harvey, if you were to ban me from your blog (even if I asked you to), main rooth jaaoongi. Shashi, no, no I’m not a WarriOr, I’m only a poor WarriEr – we are the placid temple dwellers of Kerala, while the actual WarriOrs are the Nairs. I hope I have confused you enough. 🙂

     
  37. Lalitha

    March 14, 2012 at 1:23 am

    It looks like Spring is already here, the daffodils are blooming, the tulips are beginning to bloom, temperatures are warming and I remembered this song:

    (song: do nain khile do phool khile – Ghunghat; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmpsyZWzK6I)

    But just because a few flowers are blooming, we cannot say that Spring is here, especially in this part of the Southeast, where we have had snowstorms in April which killed the entire peach crop and the citrus crop. Apparently, Shakeel Badayuni had never visited this part of the world, or else he was a very optimistic guy!

     
  38. Prakashchandra

    March 28, 2012 at 2:55 pm

    Dahleez(Mahendra Kapoor,Asha bhonsle:Ravi:Hasan Kamaal)
    Everyday I think, I have to add this song to this post, but everyday I fail, today atlast I succeeded.

    (Song: jhoomti baharon ka samaa; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zfo_0vMLTT8)

     
    • harveypam

      March 28, 2012 at 10:32 pm

      Deer aaye durust aaye!
      nice one!

       

Leave a Reply

 
