RSS

Biwi-O-Biwi (1981)

23 Nov

In the Quest of a Wife

Anu, Richard and Yves‘ influence and ‘prodings’ made me buy a Raj Kapoor DVD collection the last time I was in India. It contains all films directed by Raj Kapoor (except Prem Rog). I was so happy to have got it, that I am still sitting before it like a mouse in front of a snake and don’t know where to start. I had to take a decision and I did it in a way, which any grown-up and mature person would do. I took the easiest route out and chose a film, which was not in the collection and still qualifies as an RK film.
I had seen Biwi-O-Biwi years back on DD and loved it although my brother had narrated the story to frame-by-frame. Many of such encounters with old favourites result in big disappointments. But this wasn’t!

The film opens with a woman (Dulari) and her husband (Om Prakash) sitting with an astrologer and going through the horoscope of their son, Chandramohan (Randhir Kapoor). It seems he has Mangal (Mars) in his horoscope and thus would have trouble finding a bride. His father’s opinion about him is not high and calls him a good-for-nothing. His mum though thinks the world of him, who just seems to never have got the chance.

I agree with his father. Chandramohan, although his mother claims that he his a graduate, seems to be quite a nincompoop. If one goes by his looks, he seems to have been lazing around at his parent’s place for quite a long time after his graduation. I would say he is 40. His idea of searching for an appropriate girl-friend is to visit temples and riding his bicycle singing gori ho kali ho (any girl will do for me). The fact that he is jobless doesn’t seem to worry him much.

His singing draws attention of his childhood friend Gafoorbhai (Deven Verma), who would like to take Chandramohan to Bombay, where he can pursue a career of a singer, while he (Chandramohan not Gafoor, who already has two wives) looks for a good bride for himself.

Chandramohan’s father is relieved that his son will be leaving the house soon and packs him off with Gafoorbhai, before he changes his mind. In the big bad city a con man, Shankar (Sanjeev Kumar) relieves them of their luggage.

Shankar, a master of guises, works with Rina (Yogeeta Bali), who acts as a stool pigeon. I am amazed that her name is not Rita! Rina is madly in love with him and he exploits this fact to his advantage.

In Bombay Chandramohan also meets Asha (Poonam Dhillon) and falls for her, but like in a true filmi-manner they don’t hit-off together. The fact that he becomes a big hit in the stage-singing-business, makes Asha fall in love with him.

Asha is the only daughter of Col. Mangal Singh (also Sanjeev Kumar). The Colonel considers civilian men as unsuitable for his daughter. But as it is, he doesn’t have much of a say in this matter, his mother (Dina Pathak), who is the autocratic, but benign, sovereign of the house, has the last say in all the homely matters.

The theatre, where Chandramohan sings, has a patron (now, since she is a woman, should we be saying matron?) in form of Nisha (Simi), who is not only generous, but also considers Chandramohan as her younger brother. Her generous nature has also been discovered by Rina, who worms her way into her confidence.

Then there is Nirmala (Shashikala), who has a marriage bureau, whom Chandramohan has commissioned with the task to look-out for a suitable manglik-bride for himself. She will also be commissioned by Col. Mangal Singh to find a suitable manglik-bridegroom for Asha, who also has Mars in her horoscope.

When Rina meets Col. Mangal Singh, she is astonished at seeing the similarity between her lover and Col. Singh. When she tells about this to Shankar, he decides to impersonate the Colonel and thus channel rich Nisha’s money into his pocket.

What follows are twists in the plot which would put a boa constrictor to shame. Okay, that was a bit of exaggeration, because I have never ever seen a boa constrictor, leave alone see it doing the twist. Coming back to the film, it is a comedy on the lines of P. G. Wodehouse. It was great fun watching it.


Sanjeev Kumar is brilliant in his double act as the brawny Colonel and the clever con-man Shankar. Just watch how he takes care that the Colonel and the impersonated Colonel don’t sound the same. He does go at times over the board but it is tolerable. Randhir Kapoor puts on a good act together as the clumsy Chandramohan. He is a good comedian. His weight problem shows, but one can imagine that he has been, like his father accuses him, lazing around since his graduation. Simi Garewal and Dina Phatak are as always reliable actresses. Poonam Dhillon, thankfully has for most of her part the function of standing around and looking pretty, which she does with quite ease. Prema Narayan is wasted on her role as Asha’s friend. Shashikala does nothing more than shriek β€žUiii Maaβ€œ. Yogeeta Bali does her role justice. And not to forget there is a “friendly appearance by a few love ones”, whatever that means.
R. D. Burman’s music is not peppy like in Jawani Diwani, though the song meri bulbul yu na ho gul reminds one of jaan-e-jaan dhundta phir raha. The other songs are just about hummable.Sanjeev Kumar is the leading actor as far as the acting and screen time is considered, Randhir Kapoor the romantic lead, but it is Abrar Alvi’s witty dialogues which carry the film on its shoulders. What one misses is a good director. Rahul Rawail’s direction lacks the bite and sharpness, needed to frame Alvi’s ingenious dialogues.
All the same a funny movie! I’m sure you’ll enjoy it! Don’t miss the delightful animation summary of the film during the credits. If you want to watch it, here it is.

 
52 Comments

Posted by on November 23, 2011 in Bollywood, R K Films

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

52 responses to “Biwi-O-Biwi (1981)

  1. Ava Suri

    November 23, 2011 at 3:29 pm

    It does sound like a funny film. Those were the days, even Dabboo managed to survive as a hero. Lekin aajkal we have Abhishek.. hehe.

     
  2. harveypam

    November 23, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    I think this was his last successful film, wasn’t it? Or did Pukar come after this? I like Abhishek, I don’t know why his films flop. Poor chap! I like him even in his mobile ad. I forget the brand name, but he surely is good in it. Maybe he should concentrate more on comedies. πŸ™‚

     
  3. Anu Warrier

    November 23, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    harvey, I’m so glad to have been one of the people who converted you. Yes, Biwi-o-Biwi was a laugh riot! And I loved Sanjeev Kumar’s deadpan humour. I wish Raj Kapoor had directed it himself!

    LOL at the thought of Randhir Kapoor being a ‘graduate’! He didn’t look like a college student in Jawani Diwani either!

    Ava, Abhishek is a very good actor 😦 Really. He’s just unlucky not to have had solo hits when people with half his talent manage to become the next superstars (of course, Hrithik Roshan is blessed with awesome good looks and a phenomenal ability to dance – but acting??)

     
    • harveypam

      November 23, 2011 at 11:14 pm

      Don’t rejoice to early, Anu! You haven’t as yet!;-) Par jo ab talak nahin hua hai, woh ho bhi sakta hai, par nahin bhi ho sakta hai, par ab talak hua nahin, yane uska matlab nahin hua hai aisa nahin hai, kyun ki woh ab hona baki hai, goya ke, hua to alag baat hai. Samjhi?

      Do you think that Sanjeev Kumar’s humour was deadpan? I think he contorted his face too much as the Colonel. But it was okay, nothing intolerable. Do you think Raj Kapoor would have managed a comedy? I don’t know! But he surely would have lent it more pathos.

      I have forgotten Jawani Diwani, but what I remember about it is the excellent score by Pancham. Just love it! And the other things, which I remember about it, is that it abounds in MCPs and childish girls. The only bright spot about it is Balraj Sahni, who makes fun of Randhir Kapoor’s paunch. But ont he other hand how many heroes would have allowed that?

      Hrithik is a good actor as well. I liked him in… I think I must have been concentrating too much on his looks. πŸ˜‰

       
      • Anu Warrier

        November 24, 2011 at 12:34 am

        Go away, harvey and soak some more in Raj goodness before you tell me you are not converted! And yes, I think he could manage comedy very well, considering the few sequences that he does have in his other films – I wish he had directed a full-fledged comedy with Randhir Kapoor (his comic timing is impeccable) instead of Satyam Shivam Sundaram for instance. That was a joke. However, I think if he had made it when he had hoped to, with the cast that he wanted, with the script he wanted – then, it may have been a completely different movie from what was eventually made.

        Jawani Diwani is bearable solely for Panchamda’s excellent score. Randhir Kapoor as collegian? Scratch. Jaya as bubbly, child-like (childish?) heroine? Aargh! As for Randhir Kapoor poking fun at himself – did you see the episode with the Kapoor brothers and Neetu Singh on Koffee with Karan? It was a laugh riot – they poked fun at everybody including themselves and each other.

        Part 1
        Part 2
        Part 3
        Part 4

        Hrithik Roshan, I think, is the male Aishwarya Rai – very good looking and competent actors when they get a good director. Not great, but not awful either.

         
        • Anu Warrier

          November 24, 2011 at 12:36 am

          Oh, I missed the doubts you raised about Sanjeev Kumar. I thought he was magnificently deadpan as the conman; and delightfully over-the-top as the Colonel. And I think that was deliberately done. Sort of in an inside poking-fun-at-one-self way. And Haribhai never minded doing that – remember Angoor?

           
          • harveypam

            November 24, 2011 at 9:41 am

            You are right! He clearly differentiated between his potrayal of Shankar and the Colonel. Sanjeev Kumar was a delightful comedian. He was so versatile and his famous smile! *gush*

            BTW, I am very, very much disappointed with you! πŸ˜‰
            I was expecting you to come with brooms, rolling pins and shovels after me.

             
            • Anu Warrier

              November 24, 2011 at 4:37 pm

              BTW, I am very, very much disappointed with you! πŸ˜‰
              I was expecting you to come with brooms, rolling pins and shovels after me.

              Ah, dear harvey, but I’ve an ulterior motive; I have to convert you completely first. You have taken your first step into RK land. I need you to immerse yourself. If, after you watch the RK collection, you’re not a total and religious convert, then I’ll drown you. n’cest pas?

               
              • harveypam

                November 24, 2011 at 7:10 pm

                *all meek and frightened like a mouse*
                oui madame!

                 
        • harveypam

          November 24, 2011 at 9:55 am

          This one landed on the pending list! Don’t ask me why?
          I’ll check the things and get back to you. Now I have to go to work!

           
        • harveypam

          November 24, 2011 at 7:30 pm

          Raj Kapoor was a good director basically, so I think he would have managed a comedy as well. A comedy Randhir Kapoor would have been good. But somehow I think he didn’t like Randhir as much as he did Rishi.
          I tried watching the Koffee with Karan episodes, but I just don’t seem to have the patience level needed for it. I think the only episode of it, which I saw till the end, was the one with SRK and Kajol.

          The whole you are good no you are good gets on my nerves. Sorry about that!

           
          • Anu Warrier

            November 25, 2011 at 6:46 pm

            Not to worry. I’m not a great fan of KwK either. Only, someone sent this to me because they knew I liked most things Kapoor, and I thoroughly enjoyed the three brothers poking fun at everybody including themselves.

             
            • harvey

              November 25, 2011 at 8:13 pm

              Maybe if I had the patience to watch it ahead, i would have enjoyed it. I will have to sharpen my patience, if I want that job for film reviews and clumsy subtitling! πŸ˜‰

               
  4. bollyviewer

    November 23, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    Harvey, I would chicken out on watching Raj Kapoor films too – it took me a decade and dollops of Shashi-fandom to get through Satyam Shivam Sundaram, and I am never ever going near anything RK directed himself! And hey, Randhir Kapoor might have taken a few decades to get through college. He might have been a “student” leader, and if the student leaders I’ve seen are any indication, they never look like they are less than 40!

    Glad you reviewed this. Now I know I do not have to run and hide if this movie comes my way! ;D

     
    • harveypam

      November 23, 2011 at 11:36 pm

      Thanks for understanding me, bollyviewer! I am not so anxious about Awara and Shree 420, I remember liking them. I think I can even bear his chaplinesque behaviour at times, but his obsession with the female anatomy gets on my nerves. Those tight blouses and co. is so much of on your face. I don’t have problems with human nudity. I myself don’t mind going to a nudist beach. But when I see scenes like Simi’s skirt in Mera Naam Joker, I feel like … aargh…! I have seen lots of women falling in pools with their skirts on but never have I seen anybody’s skirt neatly arranged on the thigh like that, while coming out from the water. BUT maybe I am being judgemental and nitpicking. I haven’t seen the whole movie, MAYBE seen in a context it makes a different. After all, I somehow liked Mr. & Mrs. 55 although it was chauvinistic, sexist, regressive and anti-feminist. O God, why did I like Mr. & Mrs. 55? πŸ˜‰
      While going through college in India, I took care that I didn’t come much in contact with student leaders! πŸ™‚ That is why I completely understand, what you mean. But I think Chandramohan is too dumb to have been a student leader.
      No, you don’t have to run and hide if this film comes your way. I think you will like it.

       
    • Anu Warrier

      November 24, 2011 at 12:35 am

      bollyviewer, if your introduction to Raj Kapoor movies was through SSS, then I do not blame you for running away as far as you can.

       
      • bollyviewer

        November 24, 2011 at 8:35 pm

        Of course, SSS was not my first intro to RK’s direction. The first one I remember is Shree 420, which I really enjoyed as a kid and I remember even liking Prem Rog. However, Raj Kapoor has never appealed to me as an actor (I am not fond of either physical comedy or bhola bhaala, 40-going-on-10 simpletons), and SSS, and what little I’ve seen of his depiction of the female form in the likes of Sangam, Jis Desh Mein Ganga Behti Hai, Bobby, etc., has just hardened that dislike into a very strong aversion. There is something about his camera angles that makes one think that you are being made party to his peeping-tom acts, and I strongly object to that.

         
        • harveypam

          November 24, 2011 at 10:31 pm

          “There is something about his camera angles that makes one think that you are being made party to his peeping-tom acts, and I strongly object to that.”

          You know exactly how I feel!

           
  5. pacifist

    November 23, 2011 at 10:18 pm

    I’m glad for the link you provided harvey. Good service πŸ˜‰
    Will watch it asap and then express myself.
    I love deadpan comedians. I find it really funny. Poonam standing around and looking pretty? That’s what the contemporary heroines do in abundance.

    I love Abhishek too 😦 Hope he gets a success soon. He has the height, which the others lack, and a personality. Even his voice has his father’s timbre. He has to improve his hindi pronunciation though which sounds very anglicized.

     
    • harveypam

      November 23, 2011 at 11:51 pm

      You are welcome, dear pacifist! The service is good, eh? No, all that I did was to collect all the episodes, which were as it is available on you tube and arrange them on my playlist. It was the same thing with Midnight Lace. All borrowed stuff, like in Joroo Ka Ghulam. πŸ˜‰
      I hope you enjoy it, but since I liked it, I think, you will like it as well.
      The comedy isn’t really deadpan, but it not loud either. People do contort their faces and all, particularly Sanjeev Kumar and Rajendranath, but within limits.
      As for the contemporary heroines, they get some action to do as well, no? I see so few naya films, that I don’t know much.

      Abhishek is good, isn’t he? Poor thing, he doesn’t come across as somebody stuck-up. He seems to be quite a down-to-earth guy. All the movies, which I saw of his I liked it. He was amazing in Kabhi Alvida Na Kehna, which made me feel otherwise very embarassedand not because of the extra-marital affair. He was superb in Bluffmaster. In Dhoom 2 I liked his understated demeanour and made me feel sympathetic towards him, although one’s attention could have have been easily diverted by Hrithik’s hunky appearance. BTW, Dhoom2, so much potential wasted! It was soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo boring! *yawn*
      That reminds me, I have to go to bed. It is midnight!

       
  6. Lalitha

    November 24, 2011 at 3:01 am

    Good to see the review of this movie, since it must have come after I left in 1981, and I was pretty much out of touch with movies for some years after that – and don’t ask how I spent my time – I was busy running behind two little boys and one big boy! Sanjeev Kumar sounds great, Randhir Kapoor doesn’t sound great (and I can’t stand Abhishek – sorry, folks!) and the storyline, at least the part you have given here – sounds interesting – I might give it a try on Youtube. I will come back with my opinions after that.

     
    • harveypam

      November 24, 2011 at 9:46 am

      I understand your situation very well. I left India in 1993 and I am totally blank about the films that followed afterwards. Randhir Kapoor doesn’t have much to do here and in the little that he has to do, he is quite endearing. You will love Dina Phatak.
      Give it a try, I don’t think you’ll regret it. I am eager to know what you think of it.

      I know, not everybody likes Abhishek! But I have this weakness for dark horses!

       
  7. Banno

    November 24, 2011 at 4:46 am

    I’ve seen ‘Biwi-o-Biwi’ as a kid, and I know I found it very funny. I’d like to see it again. It does sound like a good watch, from your review.

     
    • harveypam

      November 24, 2011 at 9:48 am

      Did you also see it on DD?
      I loved it when I saw it as a kid. Was I really a kid at that time, no, in fact a teenager! How time flies!

       
  8. dustedoff

    November 24, 2011 at 7:24 am

    Oh, goodie! You’ve reminded me of a film I enjoyed very much – watched it as a kid (and a kid who HATED Randhir Kapoor – really, I couldn’t believe he was from the same family that produced people like Shammi, Shashi and Rishi). This is the only Randhir Kapoor film I liked; so much fun. Thank you for the review, and for the link. Now if the video stays online over the next couple of decades, I might get around to watching it sometime… πŸ™‚

     
    • harveypam

      November 24, 2011 at 9:52 am

      Randhir Kapoor! Yeah, I also never liked him or his films. But he is likeable here.
      Yeah, he comes from the same family with handsome men like Prithviraj, Shashi and Rishi. But his father is Raj Kapoor and he would imitate him in his films!

      I am sure the film will not remain there for the coming decades, but till then other copies of it will abound or going by the trend, something totally different thing will be in. πŸ™‚

       
  9. Shilpi Bose

    November 25, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Like I have mentioned in my blog in response to your comment, I am sure you have given up on me bynow, considering my long absence from blogosphere but thanks for the link you shared on my blog, yes a morale booster. I will not bore you with my health problems but comment about Biwi- O- Biwi. I just loved this film actually I have always loved Sanjeev Kumar’s comedy and he was just brilliant in this double role and Randhir Kapoor is I feel quite a spontaneous actor. This is one film I have no problem seeing more than once.

     
    • harvey

      November 25, 2011 at 2:56 pm

      Hey, Shilpi! Glad to see you here!
      Don’t give up on us, Shilpi! We need your affection and care! Don’t give up on us! nahiiiiiiin!
      And your health problems don’t ‘t trouble me. πŸ˜‰ So please do tell, if you like that is.

      So, you’ve seen it as well! I don’t understand, then why it doesn’t feature in the blogosphere more! It is real fun!

       
  10. pacifist

    November 25, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    Just finished watching this film, and I must say it’s quite a laugh riot (at least occasionally). I actually laughed out loud several times.
    The chase sequence at the end was quite funny though a bit too long.
    Sanjeev Kumar was excellent. Loved his ‘mummmeee’.
    I think everyone was good here.
    Thanks for the recommendation harvey πŸ™‚

     
  11. harveypam

    November 26, 2011 at 12:15 am

    I think, pacifist, you have described it much better than I ever could.
    You are right at times, the witty dialogues, just wouldn’t stop.
    The chase sequence was long, wasn’t it? I ffed it a bit
    Sanjeev Kumar was good, wasn’t he?
    Now I want to go and have a look at it again. Am glad you liked it and enjoyed it. Wonder where Prema Narayan disappears in the middle of the film.
    She does hint about directors cutting her role in this interview, maybe something similar happened in this film as well.

     
    • pacifist

      November 26, 2011 at 10:55 pm

      LOL harvey!!! Flattering as it is, you know very well I have just repeated your views πŸ˜€
      Yes, Prema Narayan just disappeared with no explanation.
      Really a nice film.

       
      • harvey

        November 26, 2011 at 11:35 pm

        No, you didn’t repeat what I said. I didn’t say that I laughed out aloud several times. nad I had also not mentioned “mumeeeeeeee”

         
  12. yves

    November 28, 2011 at 1:48 pm

    Thanks Harvey for this VERY amusing review (boa constrictors can be little and non-frightening, only the adults are huge), I was pleased also that the link at the end enables one to jump directly from the review to the movie! I haven’t seen all of it yet though.
    Now I suppose you’ll have to actually open that big box full of actual RK movies!! and, er, to avoid all those mousie problems, start with the first ones: Aag, Andaz, Jagte raho πŸ™‚

     
    • harvey

      November 28, 2011 at 10:28 pm

      Thanks, Yves, I am glad you liked the review. I am curious as to your opinion to the film, once when you finish watching it. Wonder how you receive it!

      The RK Box is still lying their in its packing. And none of the movies, which you mention are in it. Only the film directed by him, except for Prem Rog and Aag, are in the package: Barsaat, Awara, Shree 420, Jis Desh Me Ganga Behti Hai, Sangam, Mera Naam Joker (surely abridged version), Satyam Shivam Sundaram and Ram Teri Ganga Maili.

      I am in sort of a mixture of feelings for them, which I can’t understand!

       
  13. Samir

    November 28, 2011 at 7:58 pm

    Sounds like a delightful movie, maybe I will see it. I am neutral towards most RK movies, nothing against them, but will not actively seek them. Randhir Kapoor probably would not have been in films were it not for his father, although Jawani Diwani & a few others were decent timepass movies. Come to think of it, several star children would not have made it; and hence should we be thankful for Dilip, Dev, Meena Kumari, Waheeda Rehman et al who did not subject us to version 2.0 (even though Dev’s son did apparently show up in some classic disasters.)

     
    • harvey

      November 28, 2011 at 10:38 pm

      You might like it, Samir! You will surely understand also to read between the lines.

      You are right, Randhir Kapoor would surely have not made it on his talent alone nor would have Sunny Deol or Sanjay Dutt. But thanks to this nepotism, we also have Rishi Kapoor! And Sanjay Dutt eventually did become a good actor.

      Suneil Anand! Poor thing! I pitied him when I saw songs of Anand aur Anand. He doesn’t seem comfortable at all with what he was doing on screen. He looked as if he would rather go and teach in a kindergarten.

      BTW remember Kunal Goswami, Manoj Kumar’s son? He also had a short innings as an actor. Wonder what he is doing for a living now?

       
  14. sunheriyaadein

    November 29, 2011 at 11:18 am

    I’ve seen this movie in bits and pieces on tv but never got around to watching the full thing. Though I’ve wanted to. Will check it out on youtube sometime this weekend (if I’m not working).
    The discussions on star-kids is hilarious!!! LOL at
    He looked as if he would rather go and teach in a kindergarten.
    BTW remember Kunal Goswami, Manoj Kumar’s son? He also had a short innings as an actor. Wonder what he is doing for a living now?

    Kunal Goswami, Suniel Anand were real disasters. So was Kumar Gaurav.

    Coming back to Abhishek, I really like this guy and sad that he couldn’t make it big in the industry. He used to come in Motorola (mobile brand) ad and still comes in Idea (an idea can change your life) ad.

     
  15. harveypam

    November 29, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    So it is often shown on Indian TV circuit? I didn’t know that.
    I wish you that you have the weekend free for yourself, so that you can enjoy it.

    You are right the Kunal Goswami and Suneil Anand were disastrous. Kumar Gaurav did have a better innings since his debut film was at least a hit and some semi-hits like Star and all. Naam, which was a hit didn’t do anything for him but aided Sanjay Dutt’s comeback.

    Hope all our prayers are heard, where they should be heard and Abhi gets some hits! πŸ™‚

     
  16. Anu Warrier

    November 30, 2011 at 5:18 am

    harvey, now that I have seen both the films whose links you provided -in one evening, that too – thank you for helping me get through a mountain of ironing!

     
    • harvey

      November 30, 2011 at 10:13 am

      Yeah, people who do ironing it seems, get to see more TV-watching or Film-watching done. Maybe I should start ironing, which I do only twice a year, i.e., two shirts.
      What do you iron?
      BTW which films did you watch?
      Which two links did I provide in one evening?

       
      • Anu Warrier

        November 30, 2011 at 2:28 pm

        What ironing do I do? I have one husband and two children. Multiply those and formal wear, casual wear…

        I watched Midnight Lace and Biwi-o-Biwi. And I didn’t mean that you’d provided both the links in one evening; I meant I’d watched both movies in one evening! Sorry that wasn’t clear the way I wrote. Too much ironing turns brain into mush.

         
        • harveypam

          November 30, 2011 at 4:15 pm

          dono sawal sirf jokes they, yaar. Mein πŸ˜‰ likhna bhool gaya.

           
  17. ASHOK M VAISHNAV

    December 3, 2011 at 6:34 am

    I never knew that this was a RK banner movie.
    Great news.
    The post has provided enough motivation to see the movie.

     
    • harveypam

      December 4, 2011 at 10:12 am

      Yes, it is a RK Banner movie, although a forgotten one!
      I think you will like it. Do tell me about your opinion, if you watch it.

       
      • ASHOK M VAISHNAV

        December 4, 2011 at 10:30 am

        I have downloaded the movie. Presence of Sanjeev Kumar is almost a failsafe gurantee for liking the movie. Interesting the movie is directed by Rahul Ravail. Is this the only one by any one outside RK banner so directed?

         
        • harveypam

          December 4, 2011 at 9:09 pm

          Sanjeev Kumar is a good actor, but he has done some bad films as well, so I don’t really bank on his presence alone. But he sure pushes a film a few notches higher with his presence.

          No, many films produced by R. K. Films were directed by others than from Kapoor family. Aah was directed by Raja Nawathe, Jaagte Raho by Shombhu Mitra, Jis Desh Me Ganga Behti Hai is credited to Radhu Karmarkar.

           
          • ASHOK M VAISHNAV

            December 6, 2011 at 6:04 am

            What I meant was beyond greater RK Family. All these were close associates of Raj Kapoor.

            In fact, that is great tribute to him as the Leader [ in Management parlance]. To the best of my knowledge, he was known to provide requisite freedom to his directors.

             
  18. ASHOK M VAISHNAV

    December 6, 2011 at 6:07 am

    Sorry, for forgetting to continue in the previous reply:
    Jis Desh.. was probably his own work, Boot Polish and Ab Dilli.. were also by his team.

     
    • harvey

      December 6, 2011 at 11:37 am

      Yeah the extended RK-Family was very big and they are also related to many of the big players in the hindi film industry.
      I also think that JDMGBH is Raj’s work. Boot Polish and Ab Dilli Door Nahin were also from RK-stable.

       
  19. coolone160

    January 23, 2013 at 9:04 am

    The ending was just hilarious!! Shammi Kappor(the truck driver) and Rishi were also amusing in their cameos……..

     
    • harveypam

      January 23, 2013 at 9:54 am

      I also loved the ending, it was slapstick, but not overboard. The last scene was a bit naughty, but all in good humour!

       

Leave a Reply

 
