RSS

Gaane ka kachumbar II

28 Apr

“Chaman ke phool bhi tujhko” from Shikari

For years I used to sing this song as „kamal ke phool bhi tujhko gulab kehte hai” (Lotus flowers call you rose). I thought that maybe for lotus flowers gulab (rose) is a bad word and thus call her that. After some years I came to know of the real wordings, but it didn’t much help to know if being called gulab is praise or just plain bitching.

One of my distant aunt’s name (distant by relation but geographically too close) was Gulab and she was not really famous for her pulchritude but very much for her back biting. Maybe this was the cause of my dilemma.

And then I heard somebody sing one day:

Chaman ke phool bhi tujhko JULAB kehte hai” (Flowers of the garden call you a laxative)!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 28, 2011 in Bollywood

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Gaane ka kachumbar II

  1. dustedoff

    April 29, 2011 at 6:56 am

    😀 😀

    I especially love that “Chaman ke phool bhi tujhko julaab kehte hain”!!! Too good. Love the song, by the way. If only the film had been better, and if only Ajit and Ragini hadn’t been quite so overweight.

    Incidentally, a cousin of mine used to cuddle up to his grandfather and sing “Nana karte pyaar…”, because he sincerely thought that the song in question referred to how much grandfathers love their grandchildren!

    Welcome back – I am so glad to read a post from you. 🙂

     
    • harveypam

      April 29, 2011 at 10:55 am

      The songs are all good in that film! But I haven’t seen the film itself. But didn’t memsaab review that film sometime?
      That ‘nana karte pyaar‘ episode is so cute! Love that!
      I hope I can manage the lullaby list next week!

       
  2. dustedoff

    April 30, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Yes, memsaab did review the film:

    http://memsaabstory.wordpress.com/2008/11/22/shikari-1963-part-1/

    – and offered it for download, too. So you can see it for yourself! I remember having watched it years ago, on DD.

    Will be looking forward eagerly to your lullaby list!

     
    • harvey

      April 30, 2011 at 11:36 am

      No, I’ll completely rely on your judgement and steer away from the film! As it is I’ve hundreds of things to do at the moment! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
