RSS

Mohan ki Asha

02 Nov

My 10 favourite Madan Mohan-Asha Bhosle songs


When one thinks of Madan Mohan, one invariably thinks of Lata Mangeshkar. Their cooperation has brought out many a gem, but his partnership with the younger Mangeshkar sister still remains in the shadow of the bigger tree. Here I have listed some of my favourite songs resulting from this collaboration.

I have included only her solo numbers in this list. Enjoy!

1. mere piya chhede jiya – Chacha Chaudhary [1953]
Lyrics: Rajinder Krishan

This one featured in my thandi hawa song list, but I couldn’t find any reason for not including it here. Asha’s voice sounds here very much lighter than it would be after O. P. Nayyar’s influence on her singing.

2. ishq ek zeher sahi phir bhiMem Sahib [1956]
Lyrics: Rajendra Krishan

One of the few music scores by Madan Mohan, where no Lata songs feature. All the female songs are sung by Asha Bhosle in this film. Another much greater peculiarity of this film is that Shammi Kapoor plays here the villain.
These are the type of ghazals for which Madan Mohan would become famous for, particularly the ones in Lata’s voice.

3. ashkon se tere hamne tasveer banayi haiDekh Kabira Roya [1957]
Lyrics: Rajendra Krishan

Three girls in love with three men, doesn’t seem to be a big problem. But it surely does if the three girls want them to be proficient in a different art than the one they practice. But sing they all do giving Madan Mohan the chance to compose many a beautiful song. This is in fact a part of the three-song composition, which starts and ends with meri veena tum bin roye.

4. hai unki woh nigaahen – Aakhri Dao [1958]
Lyrics: Majrooh Sultanpuri

If someone would sing this about Nutan’s eyes, I would understand, what’s more it would meet my whole-hearted agreement. But how can anybody sing this about Shekhar’s eyes? Love indeed must be blind.

5. saba se yeh keh do – Bank Manager [1959]
Lyrics: Jalal Malihabadi

Again a song in appreciation of Shekhar! But what a song! What a rendition! Asha sings this in a subdued voice but all the same giving it a complete sense of urgency in a way, which only she could! It seems she tastes and rolls every word on her tongue giving each word her own special care and making the whole song very sensuous.

6. thodi der ke liye mere ho jaoAkeli Mat Jaiyo [1963]
Lyrics: Majrooh Sultanpuri

From one Minoo Mumtaz song to the other. A cabaret song, through which Asha normally could sleep walk through. The change in rhythm and MM’s exacting way of bringing out the best out of his singers wouldn’t have let her do it. She shines through it and holds the promise made in the first line.

7. shokh nazar ki bijliyanWoh Kaun Thi [1964]
Lyrics: Raja Mehdi Ali Khan

Shokh nazar is not an attribute, which one would apply for Mr. Bharat, but as we have often seen, Hindi films don’t take such things seriously. One always has to take such descriptions with a pinch of salt, at times a whole fistful of it. But one can’t find any such flaws in the song though! Madan Mohan brings in the thunder bolts (bijliyan) in the music itself right after the mukhda and the trumpet giving the thunder to it.

8. koi shikwa bhi nahin koi shikayat bhi nahinNeend Hamari Khwab Tumhare [1966]
Lyrics: Rajinder Krishan

Again an Asha dominated film-score. Wonder what made MM make these decisions? Were they of a personal nature or driven by artistic inspiration? Sounds very much like one of those subtle OPN compositions.
I was torn between bheegi huyi is raat ka aanchal and this one. But since I had already taken the former in my Nanda list, the decision fell for koi shikwa bhi nahin.

9. maine pee li mera dil kiya – Maharaja [1970]
Lyrics: Kaifi Azmi

I was oscillating between this and kitni jawan hai meri pyar ki nazar. But the change of rhythms and staccatos made me decide for this. Very versatile!

10. jaane kya haal ho – Maa Ka Aanchal [1970]
Lyrics: Kaifi Azmi

I knew this song for a long time but I always thought that it was non-filmi song and would never have thought that it was a Madan Mohan composition. What a heart-rending ghazal! Asha uses her talents to the full extent. This makes one wonder, what more gems this partnership would have yielded if they had worked more with each other!

So which are your favs from this musical combination!

Enjoy the playlist!

 
60 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2012 in Bollywood, Lists

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

60 responses to “Mohan ki Asha

  1. Shashi

    November 2, 2012 at 5:26 pm

    I guess I will be amazed if you stop amazing me with your indegenious posts, Harvey. Truly you come out with novel themes for your posts.

    Like always, the theme itself was interesting. But unfortunately, I haven’t heard many of the above songs, so can’t comment on them except for the “Woh Kaun Thi” number.

    Good work and keep up the good hope (Asha) :-)

     
    • harveypam

      November 2, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      Thanks Shashi, for your kind words!
      I came upon this theme, when Raja and I were discussing Asha and Madan Mohan songs. We were lamenting the fact that there are so few Madan-Asha songs.
      Since you haven’t heard many of the songs, this must be quite a voyage of discovery for you! Enjoy!

       
  2. thandapani

    November 2, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    Surprisingly, there are songs here that I have not listened to! That needs to be redressed immediately. The state my net is in tonight, I hope I get to listen to at least one or two.

    The ones I have heard are excellent!

     
    • harveypam

      November 2, 2012 at 10:15 pm

      Use the play list, Ava!

       
  3. thandapani

    November 2, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Your last line is the best harvey! I have heard the Maa ka Anchal song before, and the music, the singing and the lyrics are just deadly!

     
    • harveypam

      November 2, 2012 at 10:17 pm

      I thought you meant “Enjoy the playlist!”
      But that song from Maa Ka Aanchal is a whooper, isn’t it? Marvellous!
      Makes me wish for more!

       
  4. pacifist

    November 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm

    First of all, congratulations for an excellent post on an excellent topic. Madan Mohan songs have never been high on my list, but he has composed some beautiful music.
    >If someone would sing this about Nutan’s eyes, I would understand, what’s more it would meet my whole-hearted agreement. But how can anybody sing this about Shekhar’s eyes?

    LOL!! Especially as he’s making funny eyes in an effort to act. :)

    Except for the first one, last one, and the 70s (I’m sure I heard them but they didn’t register) songs I’ve heard the others and love them.

    The Ghazal from Maa Ka Aanchal is fabulous. I hadn’t heard of that either. Good discovery for me. :)

    Will get back if I come across Asha’s songs composed by Madan Mohan.

    Thank you for the playlist, though I found out that the village songs have lost quite a few of them due to the original source.

     
    • harveypam

      November 3, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      Thanks dear pacifist, for those nice words!
      I am surprised to hear that MM’s songs were never high on oyu rlist. But it would be so boring if all of us had the same taste, isn’t it?

      “Especially as he’s making funny eyes in an effort to act”
      Or what he thinks is acting or maybe even attractive.
      The ghazal from Maa Ka Aanchal is fabulous, isn’t it? It completely bowls me over as well!

      As for the village songs playlist, I will try to mend it as soon as possible!

       
      • pacifist

        November 6, 2012 at 11:11 am

        No, no. I don’t mean I don’t like Madan Mohan. It’s just that Naushad, S D Burman, Salil Chaudhary, Roshan, Shankar Jaikishan, N Dutta (most of the time) occupy so much of my choices that by the time I come to Madan Mohan I’ve covered a lot :-)

         
        • harveypam

          November 6, 2012 at 5:33 pm

          I understand what you mean, pacifist!
          I would be lost!

           
  5. Subodh Agrawal

    November 3, 2012 at 12:56 pm

    An interesting theme. I was familiar with only two songs in this list ‘Shokh nazar ki bijliyan’ and ‘Saba se yeh keh do’. The other eight were new additions to my list of forgotten gems. Thank you Harvey.

     
    • harveypam

      November 3, 2012 at 10:27 pm

      I am glad that you could discover new songs Subodh! It is always so fascinating to listen to new songs!
      Thank you Subodh!

       
  6. Arunkumar Deshmukh

    November 3, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    Welcome back,Harvey ji.
    Nice to see you posting some entirely novel and ‘Hat ke’ themes.
    The very first song,from Chacha Chaudhary-1953 is connected with me in a way.
    This is a remake of the iconic Marathi film ” PEDGAON CHE SHAHANE “-1952,in which Dhumal had made his debut. The above song sung on the screen by Shashikala,was sung on the screen by Sudha Nagpurkar in the Marathi Version.I knew this Sudha..In her later life she spent the days in poverty and in a distant suburb-Mira Road,in Mumbai.Recently,she died.
    You rightly said about Lata-Madan combo.They were too well known a jodi (Bhaiyya-Behna).Madan Mohan understood Asha’s talents genuinely and gave her suitable songs,whenever possible.

    -Arunkumar Deshmukh

     
    • harveypam

      November 3, 2012 at 10:33 pm

      That is a very interesting anecdote, Arunji! I think I have heard about the Marathi film, but am not sure if Ihave seen it. the name Sudha Nagpurkar is also totally new for me. Was Pedgaonche Shahane also directed by Raja Paranjape and was he by any chance related to Sai Paranjape? Speaking of Sai Paranjape, she was married to a Mr. Joglekar, who starred in Katha and many of her TV serials. Is he the same Joglekar, who directed Aaj Aur Kal (1963)?
      It is another sad story of a forgotten artiste in the case of Sudha Nagpurkar. :-(

       
      • Arunkumar Deshmukh

        November 4, 2012 at 9:12 am

        harvey ji,
        Sai Paranjape had no relation with Raja Paranjape.She was the granddaughter of India’s first Wrangler-K.S.Paranjape.Her husband was Arun Joglekar( a friend of mine),but they divorced later.He is not connected with Aaj aur kal.It was directed by Vasant joglekar,a veteran director of hindi films.It was a 1962 film.Pedgaonche Shahane was directed by Raja paranjape. Vasant and Arun Joglekar were not related.
        -AD

         
        • harveypam

          November 4, 2012 at 5:28 pm

          Thank you Arunji for the info! One can always rely on you for good information.
          So Arun Joglekar is your friend! I have always liked his acting, particularly in the Marathi plays, which were shown on Bombay DD. Now I have forgotten nearly all of them. The only play I can remember is one with Amol Palekar and his then-wife and a friend of his, where the latter narrates the story of how a man (Amol) and woman(Chitra) meet and fall in love, marry, have strife and then reconcile. It was a very humourous story. I just can’t recall the name of the third actor. He was very good!

           
          • Arunkumar Deshmukh

            November 5, 2012 at 12:58 pm

            Harvey ji,
            Arun Jogalekar WAS my friend.
            He died in 1992.
            -AD

             
            • harveypam

              November 5, 2012 at 1:55 pm

              Oh, I didn’t know that!
              I am sorry!

               
  7. dustedoff

    November 3, 2012 at 2:16 pm

    I’ve always thought of Madan Mohan as one of my favourites, so I was pretty aghast – by the time I’d finished reading this post – that I was actually only familiar with a handful of the songs he composed for Asha (the ones from Dekh Kabira Roya, Neend Hamaari Khwaab Tumhaare, Ban Manager and Woh Kaun Thi?! Am listening to the playlist (thank you for creating that, by the way) and am enjoying it thoroughly. :-) Thanks, Harvey!

     
    • harveypam

      November 3, 2012 at 10:35 pm

      I am so glad that even you could discover new songs in this list, Madhu!

      I knew that you would know the song from Dekh Kabira Roya, since it is your fav Hindi comedy film.

      Am also glad you are enjoying the playlist. I often do it, it helps me to listen to a list in leisure.

      Thank you Madhu!

       
  8. dustedoff

    November 3, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    An odd coincidence, by the way. Just today I saw that Chris had posted the following song clip.

    The original of Thodi der ke liye, but I like Madan Mohan’s version far better – he elevates the music to a completely different level!

    Anyway, let me add my two paise too. Jhumkaa gira re, from Mera Saaya:

     
    • harveypam

      November 3, 2012 at 10:46 pm

      Hernando’s hideaway was new for me. I hadn’t heard it before. It is very funny!
      MM seems to have inspired by it, but his rhythm and instrumentation are entirely his own. Like both. Thanks for Hernando!

      Speaking of Hollywood musicals and MM.
      Here is an interesting video

      One can discuss if it is tasteful to mix this two genres (I don’t mind it), but I admire how the person has taken pains to match the dances to the rhythm of the dance.

      jhumka gira re was also also on my pre-list. Nice to see you mentioning it!
      Do you know by any chance if it is the composer himself, who says “phir kya hua?“?

       
      • dustedoff

        November 5, 2012 at 5:13 am

        That’s a nice video, Harvey! Yes, whoever’s done it has certainly made a lot of effort. It all depends upon how well it’s done, I guess… that is what can make it taseful or not.

        No idea if it’s Madan Mohan himself who says “Phir kya hua“? May be.

         
        • harveypam

          November 5, 2012 at 9:35 am

          I am glad you liked it as well! And agree with you that it depends on how and not what! :-)

           
  9. Atul

    November 4, 2012 at 4:51 pm

    The title “Mohan Ki Asha” as well as the topic is an interesting and off beat one.

    While going through your list, I was wondering about “Jhumka Gira Re” not figuring in your or anyone else’s list till came to the bottom of the comments where Madhu mentions “Jhumka gira re”.

    Here are a few other Asha Bhonsle Madan Mohan songs that have not been mentioned by others

    Beech bajariya mori chunariya (Khoobsoorat)(1952)

    Zameen se hamen aasmaan par (Adalat)(1958)

    Jaao jee jaao dekhe hain bade (Sharaabi)(1964)
    Tere paas aake mera waqt guzar jaata hai (Neela Aakash)(1965)

    Hamaar Kahaa Maano Raja jee (Dulhan Ek Raat Ki)(1966)
    Gali Gali mein Kiya Re Badnaam (Hanste Zakhm) (1973)
    Thhoda sa aitbaar keejiye (Chowkidaar)(1974)

     
    • harveypam

      November 4, 2012 at 6:15 pm

      Thank you Atul for the compliments!
      Your list of songs is impressive

      Beech bajariya mori chunariya (Khoobsoorat)(1952) is new for me, don’t know this one. Unfortunately I also couldn’t find any link to this song.

      Gali Gali mein Kiya Re Badnaam (Hanste Zakhm) (1973): I had totally forgotten this one!

      Thhoda sa aitbaar keejiye (Chowkidaar)(1974): Listening to this after a long long long time. Most probably for the first time, since I am away from India. Thanks for reminding me of it.

      The other songs are all good, but they are all duets, that is why they didn’t enter the list. But I am happy to see them here!
      Zameen se hamen aasmaan par (Adalat)(1958)

      Jaao jee jaao dekhe hain bade (Sharaabi)(1964)

      Tere paas aake mera waqt guzar jaata hai (Neela Aakash)(1965)

      Hamaar Kahaa Maano Raja jee (Dulhan Ek Raat Ki)(1966)

      thanks for the songs!

       
  10. Atul

    November 5, 2012 at 2:07 am

    Beech bajariya (Khoobsoorat)(1952) is a rare song. Only its audio is available that too only because it was unloaded specially by Sudhir jee while writing about this song in the song blog. Here is the audio link.

     
    • harveypam

      November 5, 2012 at 9:32 am

      That is a beautiful one, Atul! Thanks for providing it!
      Not only me, I’m sure all the readers here will like it!
      Thanks also to Sudhirji for the upload!

       
  11. dustedoff

    November 5, 2012 at 5:15 am

    Harvey, you’ve sealed your fate by saying you’re happy to see even duets here! This is one of my favourite Asha-Rafi duets for Madan Mohan, from Khazanchi:

     
    • harveypam

      November 5, 2012 at 9:34 am

      If sealing my fate is so beautiful, then I’ll do it more often!
      Indeed a melodious song!
      Thanks Madhu!

       
    • pacifist

      November 6, 2012 at 11:13 am

      Oh, I like this a lot. See harvey there are songs I like very much, but don’t know they were composed by Madan Mohan.

       
      • harveypam

        November 6, 2012 at 5:30 pm

        So just like I started loving RDB’s compositions in my childhood, without knowing RDB, you love MM’s compositions without knowing that they are his! :-)

         
  12. Anu Warrier

    November 5, 2012 at 3:19 pm

    What a novel combination, Harvey! Especially since Madan Mohan is known to be a Lata-acolyte.
    Here is a nice lilting number Pyar ki nishaaniyaan from Jailor that I like:

    I notice you have the kotha song from Mem Sahib but here is another song fromt he same film

    This has a Kishore version too.

    And from Senapati

    I must confess that I prefer the Madan Mohan-Lata combination to the MM-Asha one, but perhaps that is unfair to the younger sister.

     
    • pacifist

      November 6, 2012 at 11:17 am

      I do love dil dil se milakar dekho, but it sounds so much like the Isle of capri.
      Though I must say I always like the hindi songs better than the music it has been copied/inspired from :)

       
      • harveypam

        November 6, 2012 at 5:10 pm

        Thank you for the Isle of Capri, pacifist! I was wondering, where I had heard that tune before. You know I am so bad at recollecting tunes!
        Thanks, pacifist!

         
    • harveypam

      November 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm

      Thanks Anu!
      it is interesting to see Geeta Bali play Anarkali to Abhi Bhattacharya’s (!) Salim!

      I was thinking of taking in dil dil se milakar dekho, but opted for the ishq ek zeher tho sahi, since I thought that the latter gives more of the MM-Asha flavour, though the former presents a new facette of their artistic contribution.

      Nalini Jaywant looks so different in Senapati, I barely could recognise her.

      I understand you preferring MM-Lata songs, I also like them a lot and if had to chose between MM-Asha songs and MM-Lata (God forbid) would choose the latter. But that is the very reason behind this post!

      Thanks for the songs, Anu!

       
  13. Songs Of Yore

    November 6, 2012 at 3:13 am

    An interesting combination and a very creative title! One could have hardly guessed what it is about. It is surprising that MM created such gems for Asha Bhosle, his name is so integrally associated with Lata Mangeshkar. An absolute gem, which deserves to be included is Unhe kissa-e-gham likhne jo baithe from Naya Kanoon. This is a double version song. The video link has both the versions, Asha Bhosle’s follows after Rafi’s at 2.30:

     
    • harveypam

      November 6, 2012 at 5:26 pm

      Wow, this was a discovery on many different planes for me at the same time.
      1. the beautiful rendition by Asha!
      2. Rafi’s splendid shayari delivery!
      3. Hasrat’s beautiful nazm
      4. A film called Naya Kanoon
      5. Bharat Bhushan’s pairing with Vyjyanthimala
      Thank you for this discovery, AK!

       
  14. Subodh Agrawal

    November 6, 2012 at 11:48 am

    I came across this article on Asha in the online magazine Open. Found it worth sharing here: http://www.openthemagazine.com/article/art-culture/the-unending-trial-of-asha-bhosle

     
    • harveypam

      November 6, 2012 at 5:28 pm

      That made interesting reading, Subodh!
      And now at last I know the year of her divorce, because I remember her talking about her husband not allowing to meet her people. And this was hurting her a lot and that while recording ‘ab ke baras bhej bhaiya ko babul’ all this emotions came flooding.

       
  15. ASHOK M VAISHNAV

    November 8, 2012 at 6:29 am

    To say that Madan Ki Asha has fulfilled the much needed need for (so-called) odd combination(s) in Hindi Film Music would be an understatement of the Understatements.

    The ‘10’ and other ‘add-on’ thus has done a great job of enlivening not only a rare facet of a musical relationship, these ought to provide a powerful motivation for others to help dig out such rare- relationships and corresponding gems.

    Ashquon Se Tere Hamane, Saba Se Ye Keh Do, Thod Der Ke Liye Mere Ho Jao, Shauk Nzar Ke Bijaliyan are the examples of the songs that would certainly find place in any “Top” list of Asha Bhosale songs, but would certainly give a run to any “top” compilation for female playback singers.

    The subject does need a very detailed look on the memory lane, and that is the a very serious challenge – Good Songs getting relegated to the back seat of our memory by more popular songs.
    Lata Mangeshkar’s ‘rules’ of (generally) not singing mujra songs or her tiffs with the music directors (Navrang – C Ramchandra; Sujata – S D Burman); Mera Naam Joker – SJ) etc. have indeed provided us with many gems from Asha Bhosle with the music directors who are known to have created so strong a (musical) relationship and string of songs with Lata Mangeshkar.

    Here is such a “Night Club” Song – http://youtu.be/pKwmeFwrtj8 and several more in this film. This film has a very pleasant Geeta Dutt song as well.

    There songs that come up with great exceptions to prove (this) rule –Nazare Uthake Zara Dekh Le – http://youtu.be/PPjyWQqF-xY – from Chacha Zindabad, which had an all-time Lata Classic – Bairan Need Na Aaye – http://youtu.be/AWuA5EgfdLo

    So, a point raised in the discussions – Why a music director chooses a singer against the (normal) expected pattern – does throw up a challenge in itself to fathom out such gems and possible reasons thereof.

    You have done a great service by creating a play list of the songs. Would it be asking too much, to add the songs mentioned in the comments to the original article to this playlist?

     
    • harveypam

      November 8, 2012 at 8:37 pm

      Thanks for the nice words, Ashokji!

      How right you are about the need for odd combinations.

      Sanam jab se ghar nikal ke chalo is song, which I didn’t know of before. It is sweet! Do you know by any chance who the actress is?

      I was thinking of taking in nazar utha ke zara dekh le, it just missed the call. Thanks to your submission, it has made it here. Thanks for that.

      bairan neend na aaye is a wonderful song, isn’t it? Love it! Nevertheless, I am seeing the picturisation for the first time.

      I have added all the recommended Asha solo songs under the baton of MM in the playlist now. Enjoy!

       
      • ASHOK M VAISHNAV

        November 9, 2012 at 4:28 am

        Many thanks for enriching the rich playlist.

         
      • ASHOK M VAISHNAV

        November 9, 2012 at 4:34 am

        Actress is Nishi in ‘Sanam Jab Ghar’, who incidentally paired with Dara Singh in some of the great box -office hits like Lootera.

         
        • harveypam

          November 9, 2012 at 7:43 pm

          Of course it is Nishi, how could I forget that. I often forget her name! Thanks for reminding Ashokji!

           
  16. Prakashchandra

    December 1, 2012 at 6:23 am


    (Vaishali lip syncing)
    Hope No one mentioned this song yet.
    Regards
    Prakash

     
    • harveypam

      December 2, 2012 at 11:26 am

      Dear Prakashji!
      Hearty welcome back!
      Have been missing you on this blog.
      The song as well as the actress were unknown!
      Lovely song! Which film is it?

       
      • Prakashchandra

        December 2, 2012 at 11:50 am

        “Aji rehne do chandaa badli mein” again from Chowkidar.(1974 or 1975)
        The actress I think is Vaishali, who is there in Teen Bahuraaniyaan as one of the younger joint family member and other actors:Jeevan,Asit Sen,D.K.Murad,Zaibunnisa,Joginder Shelly,Lalita Kumari Sinha

        I think you can enjoy the song better if you listen to the audio link seperately.If you like to listen that song without the video, here is the audio link:

        below I mentioned that video link of “Thoda saa aitbaar keejiye” song was not given but only the audio link was given above.
        Sorry for the confusion, it was a typing mistake.I typed the lines in a hurry.

        And the song is picturised on Jayashree.T.

        Regards
        Prakash

         
        • harveypam

          December 2, 2012 at 12:15 pm

          Thanks for the info Prakashji!
          So was Chowkidar also a Asha dominated music score?
          Thanks for the clarification! So it is Jayshree T. I do get confused between them!

           
  17. Prakashchandra

    December 1, 2012 at 6:33 am

    vide link missing:

     
    • harveypam

      December 2, 2012 at 11:27 am

      I didn’t understand the line vide link missing.
      It is Meena T isn’t it? Or is Jayshree T.
      thoda sa aitbaar kijiye is such a lovely song, I would have preffered a better picturisation.
      I particularly like the line:
      jaane kab ishq me kya ho jaaye, banda bande ke khuda ho jaaye
      Thanks for this one, I knew this song, but never realised that it is a MM song!

       
  18. Prakashchandra

    December 1, 2012 at 8:09 am

    My all time favourite:Asha-Minoo Mumtaz combo:Just listen to Asha`s voice modulation-she simply throw away her voice-Always I marvel at her this voice quality , simply amazing in my personal opinion)

     
    • harveypam

      December 2, 2012 at 11:28 am

      Such an amazing song!
      The theme reminds me of tadbeer se bigdi hui taqdeer bana le. How come I didn’t know of this? Simply fabulous!
      Agree with you completely about your opinion on Asha’s voice modulation. She never sang safely, she just put her 100% in and didn’t think twice before taking risks! A marvellous artiste!

       
  19. Shalini

    December 29, 2012 at 12:32 am

    Wonderful post, Harvey! Thanks for shining a long overdue spotlight on this musically overlooked combo. The funny thing is that the Asha-MM pairing was almost as prolific as the celebrated Lata-MM one – 190 songs vs. 210. Such are the vagaries of glory.:-)

    You’ve listed four of my favorite Asha-MM songs, Hai unki woh nigahen, thodi der kay liye, saba se yeh and shokh nazar ki bijliyan, but here are a couple more that I adore:

    Kehti hai yeh thandi hawa – Ilzaam

    Yeh kaun meri zindagi mein aa gaya – Bombay Racecourse

    Tu hai katil – Ek Mutthi Aasman –

     
    • harveypam

      December 30, 2012 at 7:20 am

      Thank you Shalini! And thank you for that interesting fact, that Asha-MM combo gave nearly as muchs ongs as Lata-MM! Wow! Mind-boggling!

      Thanks for reminding us of kehti hai yeh thandi hawa, it featured in my thandi hawa songs. It is so beautiful!

      Yeh kaun meri zindagi mein aa gaya is new for me. Will have to give it more hearings!

      I was wondering if I should if I should give tu hai kaatil a place in my list. You did the job for me. Thank you Shalini!

       
  20. डॉ नीशीथ ध्रुव

    May 9, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    Actually if one goes through the complete works of Madan Mohan ( which I found from the net) I was surprised to find that He has extracted more songs from Ashaji rather than Lataji. It is just that Madan-Lata combination has cast more magic on the lovers of music. I have found the magic of Madan-Asha equal if not more.

     
    • harveypam

      May 13, 2014 at 8:10 pm

      Really? I didn’t know that!
      I think, any Madan Mohan fan would disagree at first. I do believe you.
      I also find his compositions for Asha just wonderful and at par with his composition for Lata.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 556 other followers

